Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Joan Powell Named 2018 USA Volleyball Frier Recipient

Joan Powell (right) accepts the 2018 Harold T. Friermood "Frier" Award from past Frier recipient Doug Beal
Dallas, USA, May 23, 2018 -  USA Volleyball honoured Joan Powell with its Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award, the highest honour bestowed by the national governing body, during the Dorothy C. Boyce Awards Recognition Banquet on Wednesday evening in Dallas.

Powell has enriched the lives of countless people within the volleyball world, whether as an administrator, player, high school coach, referee, teacher of the game or simply a mentor over the last 40 years.

“Absolutely humbling to be among the group of Frier award winners,” Powell said after being introduced as the 2018 Frier recipient and what it means to her being added to that list of volleyball’s legends. “That group of people and what they have done for the sport of volleyball… I am the recipient of what those people did for this great game. No award necessary. Being introduced to this game, and for them being the care givers of the game provided me great opportunities. Wow. Wow.”

Powell was one of 17 recipients honoured at the Boyce that showcases the sport’s legendary athletes, coaches and administration.

Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award: Joan Powell
All-Time Great Player Award (Beach): Randy Stoklos
Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach (Contemporary Division): Anna Collier

Receiving USA Volleyball honours on Wednesday in Dallas were Anna Collier (left) and Randy Stoklos

Tom Haine All-Time Great Player Award (Indoor): John Brame
Flo Hyman All-Time Great Player Award (Indoor): Polly Lowery Simmons
Bertha Lucas All-Time Great Coach (Pioneer Division): Jeff Mozzochi
George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball: Steve Robb
George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball: Lynne Updegraff
Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award: Doug Wilson
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Program Director: Dan Smith
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Male Coach: Joe Hovanes
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Female Coach: Karen Schmitz
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Parent Award: Kathy Gettinger
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Service Award: Joe Thomas
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Clinician: Sarah E. Hammers
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Referee: John Bear
Junior Service Award - Outstanding Scorer: Lauren Lange

Other award winners at other venues are:

Dr. Neville A “Doc” Booth Commissioner’s Award: Kent Ma, Aloha Region
Best Regional Web Site: Keystone Region
E. Douglas Boyden Media Recognition Award: Mechelle Voepel, espnW
James E. Coleman USA National Team Award: Tony Lovitt


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news