Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Confederation qualification process for FIVB Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 confirmed

Russia will be looking to add a third Women's World Championship title following their gold medal wins in the 2006 and 2010 editions
Milan, Italy, April 23, 2013 – The qualification process across all five confederations for the FIVB 2014 Women’s World Championship in Italy has been confirmed on the eve of a press conference by the organisers the Italian Volleyball Federation (FIPAV). The official logo, competition formula and venues will be unveiled at the press conference in Milan on Tuesday.

The FIVB Women's World Championship is held every four years with the last edition hosted by Japan in 2010. Russia won their second straight title here, defeating Olympic champions Brazil 3-2 (21-25, 25-17, 20-25, 25-14, 15-11) in a five-set marathon to win the gold medal in front of a full house of 12,000 fans at the Yoyogi National Stadium in Tokyo.

All eyes are now on the 2014 Championships and a record number of countries and territories have already registered to enter the qualification process, which features a record 141 countries, up from 101 in 2010. Host Italy has automatically qualified for the 24-team competition.

The qualification process will see countries compete within their federation to determine the 23 participants who will join the hosts at the Championship.


Forty-one (in addition to Italy) out of 55 national federations have submitted applications to join the qualification process with the 12 top-ranked teams granted byes to the third round.

The top two non-qualified teams from the 2013 CEV European Championship will earn berths in  the World Championship, while the remaining seven places will be determined via a three-round qualification tournament. 

The first round will see 29 teams divided into seven pools with the winners advancing directly to the third round and the runners-up moving on to the single round-robin second stage.

The third round will be held from January 3 to 5 and will feature 20 teams in five groups of four. The group winners and two best second-ranked teams will earn spots in the World Championship.

The first-round pools are as follows:
Pool A: Croatia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Montenegro (hosts), F.Y.R. of Macedonia
Pool B: Israel, Belarus (hosts), Finland, Denmark
Pool C: Belgium (hosts), Portugal, Switzerland, Northern Ireland
Pool D: Ukraine (hosts), Hungary, Albania, Moldova
Pool E: Slovakia (hosts), Greece, Austria, Liechtenstein
Pool F: Estonia, Iceland, Latvia (hosts), Lithuania
Pool G: Luxembourg, Cyprus, San Marino, Malta (hosts), Scotland.


The AVC qualification for the 2014 FIVB Women's Volleyball World Championship will see member nations compete for four places at the finals in Italy.

Sixteen teams – up from 11 in 2010 – will try to make it to the World Championship. The first round will consist of three zonal qualification tournaments: India and Uzbekistan in the Central Zone; Hong Kong, DPR Korea and Chinese Taipei in the Eastern Zone; and Indonesia, Myanmar, the Philippines and Vietnam in the Southeastern Zone.

The top team from each qualifying pool will move on to the final round of qualifying, which will take place in Japan and China. The other teams in the final round will be Japan, China, Korea, Thailand, Kazakhstan, Australia and New Zealand. The top two from each pool in the final round will qualify for the World Championship in Italy.

The Qualification Tournament will start in June and finish in September.


There are vacancies for six women’s teams from NORCECA for the World Championships.
NORCECA’s qualification process began in 2012 and the first round of qualifiers has already been completed. NORCECA’s top seven-ranked teams – USA, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Mexico and Puerto Rico – all moved directly to the third and final round.
The second round of the NORCECA 2014 World Championships qualifiers will feature six women’s tournaments. The top two ranked teams of each tournament, plus the best third place, will move on to the third and final round of five competitions to be held in 2014.

The second round tournament schedule was announced by NORCECA in February

South America

The winner of the South American Championship will get a direct berth to the World Championship, while the next four best teams will play off for the one remaining South American berth.


Africa will have two spots in the World Championship and a three-round qualification system, starting with two rounds of zonal qualifiers to be played from May to November followed by a 14-team final round in January 2014.

Africa’s top two teams will get a direct berth into the final round. The winners of the two seven-team final-round pools will earn a berth in the World Championship.


Download highresolution

| More


Latest news