Volleyball Nations League Men's World Championship Women's World Championship World Cup Volleyball Challenger Cup Men's Club World Championship Women's Club World Championship Women's Grand Champions Cup Men's Grand Champions Cup Men's U23 World Championship Women's U23 World Championship Men's U21 World Championship Women's U20 World Championship Boys' U19 World Championship Girls' U18 World Championship Archives
2020 Olympic Qualification System 2020 Qualification Tables
Senior - Men Senior - Women U23 - Men U23 - Women U21 - Men U20 - Women U19 - Boys U18 - Girls
Volleyball HistoryFIVB official Rules of the GameBasic Volleyball RulesPicture of the Game reportGlossary
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

USA and China to renew rivalry at World Cup

USA and China have been paired together at the 2015 Women's World Cup
Tokyo, Japan, June 23, 2015 – World champions USA will renew their rivalry with China after the two teams were drawn in the same first round pool for this year’s FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Cup. 

Karch Kiraly’s team defeated China 3-1 in the final of the 2014 FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship and at the last World Cup in 2011, USA finished in second place behind Italy, while China were third. 

The World Cup takes place across Japan from August 22 – September 6 and features 12 sides including hosts, world and continental champions.

The USA and China have been paired in Pool B which takes place in Matsumoto, Okayama and Komaki, along with Korea, Serbia, Peru and Algeria.

Host nation Japan lead the way in Pool A, along with Dominican Republic, Russia, Argentina, Kenya and Cuba. 

The hosts will be out to match their performances at the 2014 FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix where they claimed silver and the London 2012 Olympic Games, where they won bronze. 

There are 30 matches in the first round which takes place over five days and teams are divided into two pools of six teams. 

In the second and third rounds teams play the other teams they had not previously played, over six days and 36 matches. 

At the end of the competition the medals go to the top three teams, with the top two earning a place at the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games. 

FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Cup, Japan 2015 – Pool Draw
1st Round
August 22
Pool A
Dominican Republic v Russia, Cuba v Kenya, Argentina v Japan
Pool B
USA v Korea, Serbia v China, Peru v Algeria
August 23
Pool A
Kenya v Dominican Republic, Argentina v Cuba, Japan v Russia
Pool B
Korea v Peru, China v Algeria, Serbia v USA
August 24
Pool A
Dominican Republic v Argentina, Russia v Kenya, Cuba v Japan
Pool B
USA v China, Peru v Serbia, Algeria v Korea
August 26
Pool A
Argentina v Russia, Cuba v Dominican Republic, Japan v Kenya 
Pool B
USA v Peru, Serbia v Algeria, China v Korea
August 27
Pool A
Russia v Cuba, Kenya v Argentina, Dominican Republic v Japan
Pool B
Algeria v USA, Peru v China, Korea v Serbia 

2nd Round
August 30
Pool A
Dominican Republic v Serbia, Russia v Korea, Japan v Peru
Pool B
Argentina v Algeria, Kenya v USA, Cuba v China
August 31
Pool A
Dominican Republic v Peru, Russia v Serbia, Japan v Korea
Pool B
Cuba v Algeria, Argentina v USA, Kenya v China
September 1
Pool A
Russia v Peru, Dominican Republic v Korea, Japan v Serbia
Pool B
Kenya v Algeria, Argentina v China, Cuba v USA

3rd Round
September 4
Pool A
Dominican Republic v China, Russia v USA, Japan v Algeria
Pool B
Argentina v Peru, Cuba v Serbia, Kenya v Korea
September 5
Pool A
Dominican Republic v Algeria, Russia v China, Japan v USA
Pool B
Cuba v Peru, Kenya v Serbia, Argentina v Korea
September 6
Pool A
Russia v Algeria, Dominican Republic v USA, Japan v China
Pool B
Kenya v Peru, Argentina v Serbia, Cuba v Korea

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news