FIVB - Volleyball World League

Competition Formula


The Finals of the 24th edition of the world’s premier annual men’s volleyball tournament will be held from in Mar del Plata, Argentina from July 17 to 21, 2013.

Argentina, in particular the city of Mar del Plata, has an extensive history of hosting volleyball events having staged the FIVB World League Finals in 1999, the 2002 FIVB Men’s World Championship and three FIVB World Tour Opens from 1998 to 2000.  In 2010 the city of Cordoba played host to the World League Finals.

The Finals will feature the top two teams from pools A and B, the winners of pool C and the host nation.

See Intercontinental Round Results/Rankings


Match Schedule


M # Pool Team A Team B Date GMT Time Local Time
91 E E1 - BRA E3 - RUS 17 July 20:30 17:30
92 D D1 - ARG D3 - BUL 17 July 00:00 21:00
93 E E3 - RUS E2 - CAN 18 July 20:30 17:30
94 D D3 - BUL D2 - ITA 18 July 00:00 21:00
95 E E2 - CAN E1 - BRA 19 July 19:30 16:30
96 D D2 - ITA D1 - ARG 19 July 23:00 20:00
97 SF1* Winner Pool D - ITA Runner-up Pool E - RUS 20 July 19:30 16:30
98 SF2* Winner Pool E - BRA Runner-up Pool D - BUL 20 July 23:00 20:00
99 Final 3/4 Loser #97 - ITA Loser #98 - BUL 21 July 19:30 16:30
100 Final 1/2 Winner #97 -  RUS Winner #98 - BRA 21 July 23:00 20:00

* If Argentina qualify for the semifinals, matches may be inverted if necessary so that Argentina play the second match of the day.

Host City and Venue

The World League Finals will take centre stage in Mar del Plata, one of Argentina's top beach resort towns. Its 10 miles of sandy beaches attracts a lot of tourists.

The World League Finals will be held at the Estadio Islas Malvinas.

With a seating capacity of 8,000, the Estadio Islas Malvinas of Mar del Plata is a regular facility for volleyball competition.

The arena was built in 1995 for the 12th Pan-American Games. It hosted the Men's World Championship in 2002. 

Participating teams (6)



CANADA (Winners of Pool C)

BRAZIL (Winners of Pool A)

ITALY (Winners of Pool B)

BULGARIA (Runners-up of Pool A)

RUSSIA (Runners-up of Pool B)


Team distribution and Pool composition


1. The organisers, Argentina, are automatically seeded in Pool D as number 1.

2. The other teams are seeded as per the World League Council decision.


Pool D
D1 Hosts (Argentina)
D2 B1 (Pool B winners - Italy)
D3 A2 (Pool A runners-up - Bulgaria)
Pool E
E1 A1 (Pool A winners - Brazil)
E2 C1 (Pool C winners - Canada)
E3 B2 (Pool B runners-up - Russia)