FIVB - Women's Volleyball World Cup 2011
Anim Flash

2012 WORLD LEAGUE title won by poland


Poland claimed their first ever World League title following an exhilarating 3-0 (25-17, 26-24, 25-20) win over USA in the final of the 2012 FIVB World League at the Arena Armeec in Sofia, Bulgaria.

In their first ever World League final, last year’s bronze medallists were in devastating form. They dropped only two sets against Brazil before beating the hosts Bulgaria in the semifinals in straight sets and then winning the World League trophy and the $1m prize.

The 2012 World League is Poland’s first international title since the 1976 Olympics, which adds to their 1974 World Championship crown.

For USA, a repeat of 2008 when they won the World League and Olympic titles did not happen this time but the silver medal – which adds to their one gold and two bronze to become the fifth most successful country in the World League behind Brazil (16 medals), Russia (14), Italy (13) and Cuba (9) - was impressive considering the start of their World League campaign when they lost three matches in a row.

Earlier in the day, Cuba beat Bulgaria in a superb five-set thriller 3-2 (25-18, 19-25, 23-25, 25-23, 15-12) for their first World League medal since a bronze in 2005. It is Cuba’s third World League bronze in total and adds to their one title and five silvers.

For Bulgaria it was their fourth time placing just out of the medals after finishing in a similar vein in 1994, 2004 and 2006.



Year Finals 1st 2nd 3rd
2012 Sofia, Bulgaria Poland U.S.A. Cuba
2011 Gdansk, Poland Russia Brazil Poland
2010 Cordoba, Argentina Brazil Russia Serbia
2009 Belgrade, Serbia Brazil Serbia Russia
2008 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil U.S.A. Serbia Russia
2007 Katowice, Poland Brazil Russia U.S.A.
2006 Moscow, Russia Brazil France Russia
2005 Belgrade, Serbia Brazil Serbia & Montenegro Cuba
2004 Rome, Italy Brazil Italy Serbia & Montenegro
2003 Madrid, Spain Brazil Serbia & Montenegro Italy
2002 Belo Horizonte, Brazil Russia Brazil Yugoslavia
2001 Katowice, Poland Brazil Italy Russia
2000 Rotterdam, Netherlands Italy Russia Brazil
1999 Mar del Plata, Argentina Italy Cuba Brazil
1998 Milan, Italy Cuba Russia Netherlands
1997 Moscow, Russia Italy Cuba Russia
1996 Rotterdam, Netherlands Netherlands Italy Russia
1995 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Italy Brazil Cuba
1994 Milan, Italy Italy Cuba Brazil
1993 São Paulo, Brazil Brazil Russia Italy
1992 Genova, Italy Italy Cuba U.S.A.
1991 Milan, Italy Italy Cuba Russia
1990 Osaka, Japan Italy Netherlands Brazil



Competition dates


Intercontinental Round

May 18 - July 1, 2012

Finals in Sofia, Bulgaria

July 4-8, 2012

FIVB YouTube Channel


2012 World League gold medallists Poland

See 2012 Final Standing