FIVB - Women's Volleyball World Cup 2011
Anim Flash

Italy seal back-to-back titles in japan


Italy were once again the queens of the FIVB Volleyball Women's World Cup as they successfully defended their crown in Japan. They were joined by FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix winners USA who finished second and China in third. All three join Great Britain at the Olympic Games next year.

The tournament was once again a huge success with some stand out performances from all teams involved. It was a tense affair right until the last few matches, with hosts Japan as well as Brazil and Germany all still fighting for one of those precious top three berths. However, in the end all three fell short as Italy tore up the script to deliver a memorable campaign.


Year Place 1st 2nd 3rd
2011 Tokyo (Japan) Italy USA China
2007 Nagoya (Japan) Italy Brazil USA
2003 Osaka (Japan) China Brazil USA
1999 Osaka (Japan) Cuba Russia Brazil
1995 Osaka (Japan) Cuba Brazil China
1991 Osaka (Japan) Cuba China U.S.S.R.
1989 Nagoya (Japan) Cuba U.S.S.R. China
1985 Tokyo (Japan) China Cuba U.S.S.R.
1981 Osaka (Japan) China Japan U.S.S.R.
1977 Tokyo (Japan) Japan Cuba Korea
1973 Montevideo (Uruguay) U.S.S.R. Japan Korea





1 Italy
3 China
4 Japan
5 Brazil
6 Germany
7 Serbia
8 Dominican Republic
9 Korea
10 Argentina
11 Algeria
12 Kenya

FIVB YouTube channel