FIVB - Women's Volleyball World Cup 2011
Anim Flash



The FIVB Volleyball Men's World Cup returned on November 20, marking the first step in the qualification proces for the London 2012 Olympic Games. The tournament will run until December 4 and the top three teams will qualify for the Games. They will join Great Britain who have already secured a berth as the host country.

A total of 12 teams are in Japan for the competition, all of which have qualified for the tournament through their respective continental championships, either as the champions or as one of the four best runners-up from around the world. Additionally, two wildcards were selected with hosts Japan also competing.

Brazil have won the two last World Cups in 2003 and 2007 and are the second team in volleyball history to win back-to-back titles after the former Soviet Union, which won the trophy in 1977 and 1981, along with 1965 and 1991. The only other winners of the tournament have been East Germany in 1969, USA in 1985, Cuba in 1989 and Italy in 1995.


Year Place 1st 2nd 3rd
2011 Tokyo (Japan) Russia Poland Brazil
2007 Tokyo (Japan) Brazil Russia Bulgaria
2003 Tokyo (Japan) Brazil Italy Serbia & Montenegro
1999 Tokyo (Japan) Russia Cuba Italy
1995 Tokyo (Japan) Italy Netherlands Brazil
1991 Tokyo (Japan) U.S.S.R. Cuba USA
1989 Tokyo (Japan) Cuba Italy U.S.S.R.
1985 Tokyo (Japan) USA U.S.S.R. Czechoslovakia
1981 Tokyo (Japan) U.S.S.R. Cuba Brazil
1977 Tokyo (Japan) U.S.S.R. Japan Cuba
1969 East Berlin (G.D.R.) G.D.R. Japan U.S.S.R.
1965 Warsaw (Poland) U.S.S.R. Poland Czechoslovakia



1 Russia
2 Poland
3 Brazil
4 Italy
5 Cuba
7 Argentina
8 Serbia
9 Iran
10 Japan
11 China
12 Egypt

FIVB YouTube channel