FIVB - Women's Volleyball World Cup 2011

Competition Formula

The competition consists of a single round-robin tournament with 12 participating teams, organised in four rounds with 66 matches in total.

1st and 2nd Rounds

30 matches

Five days of competition

The 12 participating teams are split into two groups (Pool A & Pool B). The two groups (Pool A & Pool B) will be composed of six teams

3rd and 4th Rounds

36 matches

Six days of competition

Teams continue to play against the remaining teams of the other group.


The top three teams (if not yet qualified) will earn berths for the Olympics taking place in London from July 28 to August 12, 2012.

Distribution of teams

The distribution of teams for Pool A and Pool B for the first and second round will be according to the FIVB World Ranking as per January 15, 2011.


















Continental champions

CUBA (NORCECA continental champions)

SERBIA (CEV continental champions)

BRAZIL (CSV continental champions)

EGYPT (CAVB continental champions)

IRAN (AVC continental champions)

Vice-continental champions

USA (NORCECA vice-continental champions)

ITALY (CEV vice-continental champions)

ARGENTINA (CSV vice-continental champions)

CHINA (AVC vice-continental champions)



(one per confederation)

2011 VICE-CONTINENTAL CHAMPIONS: 4 (the four highest ranked in the FIVB World Ranking as per January 15, 2011)

FIVB, FUJI TV and JVA will choose the remaining two teams under the condition that they took part in the corresponding Continental Championship, have enrolled for Olympic Qualification for London 2012 and guarantee television broadcasting in their country

NB: In case Japan is continental champion or vice-champion, the third ranked team from the continental championship will be taken into consideration as one of the second-placed continental teams.

Organising country

JAPAN (As hosts of the competition, Japan qualify automatically for the World Cup)

Wild cards