Anim Flash


The next generation of volleyball stars were welcomed to Peru from July 22-31 as Lima and Trujillo hosted the 16th edition of the FIVB Volleyball Women's Junior World Championship .

16 teams featuring the world's finest U-20 players were on hand to entertain thousands of fans as they looked to clinch the most prestigious trophy in international age grade volleyball.

On this occasion Italy emulated the 1997 team that won silver by clinching top spot on the podium for the first time in the tournament's history. They beat six-time champions Brazil to the title while China sealed the bronze medal.

The FIVB Volleyball Women's Junior World Championship provides a platform for the next generation of stars to showcase their skills on the international stage and potentially take a big step into the giant world of the senior ranks.


Meet Warmi, the official mascot of the event, whose name means  "woman" in Quechua.


Year Place 1st 2nd 3rd
2011 Lima & Trujillo (PER) Italy Brazil China
2009 Tijuana & Mexicali (MEX) Germany Dominican Republic Brazil
2007 Nakhon Ratchasima (THA) Brazil China Japan
2005 Istanbul & Ankara (TUR) Brazil Serbia & Montenegro China
2003 Suphanburi (THA) Brazil China Poland
2001 Santo Domingo (DOM) Brazil Korea China
1999 Saskatoon (CAN) Russia Brazil Korea
1997 Gdansk (POL) Russia Italy China
1995 Bangkok (THA) China Brazil Russia
1993 Brasilia (BRA) Cuba Ukraine Korea
1991 Brno (TCH) USSR Brazil Japan
1989 Lima (PER) Brazil Cuba Japan
1987 Seoul (KOR) Brazil Korea China
1985 Milano (ITA) Cuba Japan China
1981 Mexico City (MEX) Korea Peru Japan
1977 Sao Paulo (BRA) Korea China Japan



1      Italy
2     Brazil
3     China
4     USA
5     Dominican Republic
6     Peru
7     Slovakia
8     Belgium
9     Poland
10     Russia
11     Japan
12     Cuba
13     Serbia
14     Korea
15     Egypt
16     Tunisia


Brazil leads the FIVB women's Junior & Youth World Rankings while hosts Peru rank third.