Babo-chan is looking forward seeing you!

Women's World Cup Homepage
Men's World Cup Homepage
Live scoring
Match Reports
Best Players
News & Press
FIVB officials
Match Schedule
Team History
Team Rosters
Star Profiles
List of Honors
Qualified Teams
Press Kit
General Info.
Competition Formula
World Cup History


2003 World Cup

Competition History

Scroll down for pictures from 1999

The first edition of the World Cup, for men, took place in 1965 in Warsaw. This prestigious event was played every four years thereafter except in 1973, when the menís edition scheduled for Montevideo fell through. The womenís World Cup was precisely inaugurated in 1973. In 1991, the international calendar was modified, moving this quadrennial competition to a year prior to the Olympic Games, but still remaining a quadrennial event. Since then the World Cup serves as an Olympic qualifier and the host country has been Japan, where prestigious sponsors and media and very enthusiastic public set the scene for an extremely popular and reputable event.

Japan has been the only nation to participate in all the men and womenís editions since the World Cupís creation. So far, the USSR menís team holds a record of 4 gold medals with an absence in 1995. Three-time gold medallists, the Cuban womenís team, who participated in all the editions, proved to be the practically unbeatable champions.

The 1999 edition, co-organised by Fuji TV, Japan Volleyball Federation and the FIVB will gather up the best of the 12 womenís and 12 menís national teams in 13 competition cities distributed throughout Japan. This yearís edition will be an ideal opportunity to see how the new Rally Point scoring, introduced at the last FIVB World Congress in November 1998 in Tokyo, can make Volleyball more exciting to watch for the spectators as well as television viewers.


A look back at the 1999 World Cup