Background Image
Previous Page  22-23 / 142 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 22-23 / 142 Next Page
























FIVB Volleyball

Grand Champions Cup

The FIVBVolleyball Grand Champions Cup is played every

four years in the year following the summer Olympic

Games and preceding the World Championships.

The tournament, first held in 1993, has

been hosted by Japan on every occasion

and features six teams in both the men’s

and women’s competition.

FIVB Volleyball

World League

Volleyball’s flagship annual event for men, started by

the FIVB in 1990, is a spectacular showcase for the

crème de la crème of men’s volleyball.

For the first time in the history of the

competition, the FIVB’s premier annual

men’s tournament will feature a record

36 teams, a further expansion from the

32 teams that took part in 2015. The 2016

season will be shorter to accommodate

the countries participating at the Rio

2016 Olympic Games, running from June

16-July 17.

The Intercontinental Round will adopt the same format

as the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix with three

different cities per group hosting matches in each of the

three weeks.

A total of twelve teams will play in Group 1 including

France, Serbia and USA who took first, second and third

place respectively in the 2015 Finals. They will be joined

by Poland, Brazil, Italy, Iran, Australia, Russia and wild

cards, Argentina, Belgium and Bulgaria.

The Group 1 Finals will be held in Poland from July 13-17

with the top five ranked sides plus the hosts battling for


Group 2 is composed of the 12 teams ranked 13th to

24th in 2015. They are: Japan, the Netherlands, Canada,

Finland, Czech Republic, Cuba, Korea and Portugal as well

as wild cards China, Turkey, Slovakia and 2015 Group 3

winners Egypt who have been promoted.

Group 1 and 2 matches will begin on the weekend of

June 16 and run through to July 3. The Group 2 Finals

will then be held in Matosinhos, Portugal from July 9-10

where the top three ranked sides join the hosts in the

Final Four.

A further twelve teams will compete in Group 3. Slovenia

qualified for their first ever World League through the

2015 European League while Chinese Taipei and Qatar

will also make their bow in the tournament. They join

2015 sides Greece, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Montenegro,

Puerto Rico, Spain, Tunisia, and Venezuela as well as the

returning Germany.

The pool round matches for Group 3 will take place

over two weekends: on June 17-19 and June 24-26.

The twelve teams in the group will play in pools of

four teams each with the top three sides joining hosts

Germany at the Finals in Frankfurt.

France made an impact in 2015 as they rose through

the ranks by winning the Group 2 and Group 1 Finals.

Laurent Tillie’s side swept their Group 2 matches and

eventually won the Group 1 Final with an overwhelming

performance. The team later completed their season

with a EuroVolley gold medal.

Over 420 players and a total of 29 cities featured during

the 2015 edition, with almost 700,000 spectators

attending 174 matches.

In 2013 the teams comprised the hosts, the four 2013

Continental Champions from continents whose teams

reached the highest ranking in the preceding Olympic

Games and a wild card team, jointly selected by the

FIVB, the Japan Volleyball Association (JVA) and the

Nippon television Network Corporation (NTV).

The sixth edition of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World

Grand Champions Cup was held in the cities of Nagoya

and Tokyo in Japan and was followed by the FIVB

Volleyball Men’s World Grand Champions Cup in the

cities of Kyoto and Tokyo.

In the men’s competition Brazil beat out the competition

in the round robin tournament for the gold medal,

ahead of silver and bronze medallists, Russia and Italy.

Brazil then went on to win the top spot in the women’s

competition, making them the first women’s team ever

to triumph twice in the World Grand Champions Cup,

while USA finished in second place and hosts Japan

in third.

The next edition will be held in Japan in 2017.