Friday, 20 May 2022
Back to FIVB's homepage
RSS RSS l Contact l 

Organiser website

FIVB 2010 Men's Volleyball World Championship
25 September - 10 October 2010

 ARG / Argentina - Team Composition

Team manager Facundo Rizzone
Head coach Javier Weber
Assistant coach Flavio Leoni
Doctor Gabriel Solari
Therapist / trainer Juan Manuel Barrial
Journalist Martin De Rose
  No. Name Lastname Shirt Name Birthdate Height Weight Spike Block Club
  1 Mariano Giustiniano Giustiniano 4/04/1986 189 91 335 318 Buenos Aires Unidos
  2   Pablo Crer Crer 12/06/1989 202 85 357 337 Trefi Gdanks
  3 Martín Blanco Costa Blanco C. 16/12/1985 202 98 346 334 UPCN San Juan Voley
  4   Lucas Ocampo Ocampo 20/03/1986 196 100 335 318 Personal Bolívar
  5 Nicolas Uriarte Uriarte 21/03/1990 192 87 342 322 Narbonne
  6   Gustavo Scholtis Scholtis 16/12/1982 206 87 358 338 UPCN San Juan Voley Club
  7 Facundo Conte Conte 25/08/1989 197 88 354 334 Aluron Virtu CMC Zawiercie
  8   Demián Javier González Gonzalez 21/02/1983 192 82 326 310 Brazil Kirin Club
  C 9 Rodrigo Quiroga Quiroga R 23/03/1987 191 83 336 316 Vôlei Canoas
  11   Sebastian Solé Sole 12/06/1991 200 94 362 342 Perugia
  12 Federico Pereyra Pereyra L. 19/06/1988 200 99 350 335 Al Hilal Saudi Arabia
  15   Luciano De Cecco De Cecco 2/06/1988 191 98 332 315 Lube Civitanova
  L 16 Alexis Ruben Gonzalez Gonzalez A. 21/07/1981 184 85 327 310 Personal Bolívar
  L 18   Franco López Lopez 4/02/1989 187 79 326 304 Personal Bolívar
 C=Captain  L=Libero
Team profile

Volleyball was introduced to Argentina by the YMCA in 1912. The Argentine Volleyball Federation was created in 1932, sharing the same management as basketball.

The popularity of the sport grew steadily over the years. Currently there are 30,000 registered players in Argentina, and thousands more who play in schools across the country.
The team’s official debut came at the South American Championship held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 1951, where they finished fourth.

Argentina's first World Championship was in 1960 in Rio de Janeiro, where they finished 15th. Since then, Argentina has participated in eight World Championships, with its best showing a bronze in Buenos Aires in 1982. Argentina finished 13th at the last World Championship, held in Japan in November 2006.
The team first qualified for the Olympics in Los Angeles in 1984, finishing sixth. Four years later in Seoul they won bronze, followed by a sixth-place finish in Atlanta in 1996, fourth in Sydney in 2000 and fifth in Athens in 2004.

Closer to home, Argentina has claimed one gold and three bronze medals at the Pan American Games and recently hosted the Final Round of the 2010 FIVB World League where they finished fifth.
As further proof of Argentina's growth as a Volleyball nation, several coaches are now working with great success at the top levels internationally, including Daniel Castellani (Poland), Raúl Lozano (Germany), Marcelo Méndez (Palma Volley), Julio Velasco (Spain) and Jon Uriarte (Italian Serie A1).

Coach profile

Javier Weber was installed as Argentina coach in 2009 and immediately took them to fifth place at the World League. With 613 caps for Argentina as a setter from 1985-2002, Weber took part in some of Argentina’s greatest results, including a 1988 Olympic bronze medal, 1995 Pan American Games gold, and three Olympic and five World Championship campaigns.

Weber was also immediately successful as a club coach in the Brazilian Superliga in 2002 before he returned to Argentina in 2006 to coach Bolivar where he won two national league titles.


  Photo gallery

More Photos