FIVB Volleyball Girls' U18 World Championship

Competition Formula


The sixth edition of the FIVB Volleyball Men's World Grand Champions Cup Open will be held from November 19 to 24, 2013 in the cities of Kyoto and Tokyo in Japan.

The FIVB Volleyball World Grand Champions Cup features a total of six teams per gender with the hosts Japan being joined by the continental winners from Asia, Europe, NORCECA and South America with an additional country selected by the FIVB. Africa do not have an automatic spot in the tournament after finishing the 2012 Olympic Games as the lowest ranked confederation amongst the five.

World No. 1 Brazil, who are the defending champions for both the World Grand Champions Cup and the World Championship, have participated in every edition of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Grand Champions Cup since its inception in 1993, when they finished second to Italy, and are the most successful nation going on to win the quadrennial tournament in 1997, 2005 and 2009 with another silver medal to their name in 2001. Italy and Cuba (2001) are the only other two countries to win the event.

How They Qualified


Number of vacancies
Determined by AVC Men's Continental Championship

September 28-October 6, 2013
Teams Qualified IRI - Iran
Hosts JPN - Japan (hosts)

Number of vacancies 1
Determined by 2013 CEV Volleyball European Championship - Men

September 20-29, 2013 (Denmark and Poland)
Teams Qualified RUS - Russia

Number of vacancies 1
Determined by NORCECA Men's Continental  Championship

September 21-29, 2013 (Langley, Canada)
Teams Qualified USA - United States of America

South America
Number of vacancies 1
Determined by Men's South American Championship

August 4-10, 2013
Teams Qualified BRA - Brazil


 Wild Card
Number of vacancies 1
Determined by FIVB/JVA/NTA selection
Teams Qualified ITA - Italy

Participating Teams