FIVB World Grand Champions Cup Media Guide 2013 - page 8

Brazil out to make history
The sixth edition of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World
Grand Champions Cup will be held in Japan from
November 12 to 17 at the Nagoya Nippongaishi Hall and
Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium. Held every four years, it
remains to be seen if a new winner will emerge from the
tournament – as has been the case with each of the past
five editions – or if this year will result in a second victory
for Brazil or Russia.
The favourites going into this year’s tournament are current
Olympic champions Brazil, who won the tournament in
2005. Having taken gold at the 2012 London Olympics,
the South Americans were also the dominant force in this
year’s World Grand Prix. With five wins in 15 straight sets,
the Finals in Sapporo, Japan was a show of strength from
Brazil’s volleyball wizards. Ze Roberto’s team, ranked No. 1
in the world, returns to the country looking to claim one
more title this year. It has been a successful few months
for the Brazil team, who also clinched their 18th South
American Championship title, when they beat Venezuela
in straight sets 3-0 in September.
Brazil had a disappointing finish to the FIVB World Grand
Champions Cup four years ago when they had to settle for
second place behind Italy. With that win, Italy became the
fifth title holder after Cuba (1993), Russia (1997), China
(2001) and Brazil (2005).
However, Italy did not qualify for the sixth edition of the
tournament, which is traditionally held in the year after the
Olympic Games. Instead, it was Russia who comfortably
secured the World Grand Champions Cup ticket, when
they took the top spot at the European Championships in
September. Russia, the 2006 and 2010 world champions,
have rediscovered their strength with one year to go until
next year’s World Championships.
Italy won the Women’s World Grand Champions Cup in 2009 ahead of Brazil and the Dominican Republic
I,II,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,...170
Powered by FlippingBook