London 2012

Qualification Process

The qualification process for volleyball at the London 2012 Olympic Games for the 12 teams per gender (24 in total) will consist as per the following:

1 host country (Great Britain)

3 from the FIVB Volleyball World Cup 2011

1 from each Continental Qualification Tournament

3 from the World Olympic Qualification Tournaments

For a qualification process summary, click here


Teams qualified

Are qualified to the London Olympic Games in addition to hosts Great Britain:

2011 FIVB World Cup

Women: 1. Italy 2. USA 3. China

Men: 1. Russia 2. Poland 3. Brazil

CAVB Continental Olympic Qualification

Men: 1. Tunisia | Women: 1. Algeria

CEV Continental Olympic Qualification

Men: 1. Italy |  Women: 1. Turkey

NORCECA Continental Olympic Qualification

Men: 1. USA |  Women: 1. Dominican Republic

CSV Continental Olympic Qualification

Men: 1. Argentina |  Women: 1. Brazil

AVC Continental Olympic Qualification

Men: 1. Australia | Women: 1. Japan

World Olympic Qualification

Women: 1. Russia 2. Korea 3. Serbia

Men: (Japan) 1. Serbia | (Berlin) 1. Germany | (Sofia) 1. Bulgaria

FIVB World Cup 2011

The road to the Olympic Games commences with the World Cup, the quadrennial round-robin event that showcases the very best 12 men’s and 12 women’s national teams in the world.

The 12 teams per gender consist of hosts Japan, 2011 Continental champions, four 2011 Continental vice-champions placed highest on the FIVB World Rankings and two wildcards. They compete for the three vacancies on offer in each tournament.

The first edition of the men's World Cup took place in 1965 in Warsaw. This prestigious event was played every four years thereafter except in 1973, when the men’s edition scheduled for Montevideo fell through.

The women’s World Cup was precisely inaugurated in 1973. In 1991, the international calendar was modified, moving this quadrennial competition to a year prior to the Olympic Games, but still remaining a quadrennial event.

Women: November 4-18, 2011
Men: November 20-December 4, 2011

World Olympic Qualification Tournaments Calendar

Women's World Olympic Qualification (Japan)
May 19-27, 2012
Men's World Olympic Qualification (Tokyo, Japan)
June 1-10, 2012
Men's World Olympic Qualification
(Sofia, Bulgaria)
June 8-10, 2012
Men's World Olympic Qualification
(Berlin, Germany)
June 8-10, 2012


Organising country

As host-nation, British men's and women's volleyball teams will participate in the competition taking place at Earls Court.

Great Britain men are currently ranking 92th in the world while the women are at the 69th position (as per January 4, 2012).

Continental Qualification Tournaments Calendar


Men: January 16-21, 2012 (Yaoundé, Cameroon)
Women: February 2-4, 2012 (Blida, Algeria)


Women: May 19-27, 2012*
Men: June 1-10, 2012*

* Jointly with the World Olympic Qualification Tournaments organised in Japan


Women: May 1-6, 2012
(Ankara, Turkey)
Men: May 8-13, 2012
(Sofia, Bulgaria)


Women: April 27-May 6, 2012 (Tijuana, Mexico)
Men: May 7-12, 2012 (Long Beach, USA)

South America

Women: May 9-13, 2012 (São Carlos, Brazil)
Men: May 11-13, 2012 (Almirante Brown, Argentina)