Volley WorldWorld Volley NewsYear BookRules - VolleyballRules - Beach volleyballMedical
Online AccreditationLogin for Media Club members
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Rita Subowo unanimously elected AVC President


FIVB Executive Vice-President Rita Subowo was elected by acclamation as Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) President yesterday during the organisation’s virtual 23rd General Assembly.

A key figure in the Olympic Movement in Asia and an Honorary Life Vice-President of the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA), Rita Subowo of Indonesia has become the first woman in history to lead the AVC. She replaces outgoing President Dr Saleh A. Bin Nasser who has helped to strengthen volleyball both in Asia and around the world since beginning his tenure in 2008.

The 23rd AVC General Assembly was held via video conference 

“I would like to thank you all deep from my heart. It is not easy for me, but your trust gives me confidence. I understand that volleyball is my life, so I will continue to serve and dedicate my life to volleyball,” said former IOC Member Subowo following her election.

FIVB President delivered a speech during the AVC General Assembly

FIVB President Dr Ary S. Graça F° also addressed delegates of the Congress via video conference, and expressed his congratulations:

“Today is a historic day for the AVC Family! You have elected the first woman in history to lead your organisation. I know that Madame Subowo’s leadership and wisdom will be invaluable in moving volleyball in Asia to the next level.

“I must also thank Dr Saleh A. Bin Nasser, my dear friend and a man of integrity and wisdom who has dedicated his life to our beloved sport. I have no words to describe how thankful we all are for your commitment and dedication to volleyball in Asia and around the world. You deserve the greatest recognition from the global Volleyball Family.”

In addition, the FIVB President highlighted the incredible impact of the support provided to the AVC’s National Federations through the FIVB Development Projects Platform. He revealed that, from 2017 to 2020, 116 projects in Asia had been conducted via the platform, amounting to a total investment of nearly 1.5 million USD into Asian volleyball directly via the National Federations.

The AVC General Assembly also ratified the Continental Confederation’s Board of Administration, and includes: Shaikh Ali Mohamed Rashed Abdulla Alkhalifa  (BRN), Mr Badar Ali Said Al Rawas (OMA), Mr Ali Ghanem Al-Kuwari (QAT) and Mr Abdulaziz A. Albalool of the Western Zonal Volleyball Association; Mr MD Atiqul Islam (BAN), Mr Yermek Syrlybavey (KAZ), Mr Ramavtar Singh Jakhar (IND) and Mr Mohammed Reza Davarzani (IRI) of the Central Zonal Volleyball Association; Mr Cai Yi (CHN), Mr Wang Kuei-Shiang (TPE), Mr Kenji Shimaoka (JPN) and Dr Eom Han Joo (KOR) of the Eastern Zonal Volleyball Association; Mr Tran Duc Phan (VIE), Mr Thein Win (MYA) and Mr Kiattipong Radchatagriengkai (THA) of the Southeastern Zonal Volleyball Association, and Mr Craig Carracher (AUS), Mr Hugh Graham (COK) and Mr Terry Sasser (MSH) of the Oceania Zonal Volleyball Association. Additionally, both Mrs Fong S. V. Alice Oliver of Macao and Mrs Hila Asanuma of Palau were elected as gender in minority candidates. 

Download highresolution

| More


Other FIVB news