Under 19 & 21
World Championships


  Saint Quay Portrieux  2005   Men's Youth World Championship
04.08.2005 -  07.08.2005

FIVB Home Page
Beach Home Page
General Info
Entry List
Main Draw
Photo Gallery
TV programming



2005 Women's U-19


2005 SWATCH-FIVB U-19 World Championships

The stars of tomorrow set to compete in France!


From August 3-6, 48 of the best men's and women's teams under the age of 19 will meet up in Saint Quay Portrieux, in Brittany (France) for the 2005 SWATCH-FIVB U-19World Championships.  In addition to the gold medal, the winning team will earn a ticket to participate in a SWATCH-FIVB World Tour event as the incentive further enhances the appeal of the U-19 World Championships, a training ground for the world's great champions of tomorrow.  This year, a decision was made to modify the age groups in order to be in line with the continental Confederations.  Hence, we now refer to U-19 rather than U-18, as was the case in the past.  Another recent development is that the French Volleyball Federation, under the helm of Gil Pellan, is organising the event this year, taking over from private promoters. "The French Federation's commitment is an extremely positive sign for the FIVB, which is keen to forge even closer ties with the National Federations," says Jean-Pierre Seppey, General Manager of the FIVB.  There is little doubt that the success of the first U-21 World Championships in Lavandou in 2001 inspired other countries to organise similar major events.  In 2002, for example, the first U-18 World Championships were held in Greece, and Mozambique followed suit when it hosted the U-21 event. The FIVB is delighted to see teams from all five continents participating in these competitions.  This is not just a test run for France. In 2003, the U-21 World Championships took place at Saint-Quay Portrieux, a wonderful site located in the superb Côtes d'Armor region where, this year, the world's elite players aged under 19 will be competing!




Italy, Termoli (September 8-12, 2004)

1.       Arunas Kirsnys/Arvydas Miseikis, Lithuania

2.       Zbigniew Bartman/Michal Kubiak, Poland

3.       Ingars Ivanovs/Janis Smedins, Latvia

4.       Reid Hall/Adam Podstawka, Canada

Pictured - Termoli Podium (left to right) - Kubiak, Bartman, Kirsnys, Miseikis, Smedins, Ivanovs


Thailand, Pattaya (August 27-31, 2003)

1.       Sebastian Fuchs/Thomas Kaczmarek, Germany

2.       Ian Borges/Pedro Solberg Salgado, Brazil

3.       Tomasz Sinczak/Rafat Szternal, Poland

4.       Michel Mokomdoko/Juan Virgen, Mexico


Greece, Xylokastro (August 28-September 1, 2002)

1.       Ian Borges/Pedro Solberg Salgado, Brazil

2.       Andreas Gortisanouk/Theodoris Papadimitriou, Greece

3.       Rouslan Daynov/Yaroslav Koshkarev, Russia

4.       Kamil Lyczko/Sebastian Pecherz, Poland