The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Keep on top of the action as Europe qualifies for World Champs

Lausanne, Switzerland, May 24, 2017 – Thirty six European countries across six different cities are in action from May 23 -28 to try and secure their place in the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship that will take place in Italy and Bulgaria in 2018.

Where can I follow this week's European qualifiers?

You can find specific match information on the European Confederation website.
Daily updates on the qualifying action will be posted on the FIVB Men’s World Championship Italy and Bulgaria 2018 website.

Check back to this page for updates on which countries have qualified.
How do countries qualify for the FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship Italy-Bulgaria 2018?

The world’s best 24 teams will compete in the FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship Italy-Bulgaria 2018, which takes place from September 10 to 30 2018.

Qualifying tournaments are held within the five FIVB Confederations (AVC, CAVB, CEV, CSV and NORCECA) to determine the 21 participants who will join hosts Italy and Bulgaria and reigning world champions Poland. 

European Volleyball Confederation (CEV):
Three European teams are automatically qualified for the 2018 World Championship. They are world champions Poland and hosts Italy and Bulgaria. They will be joined by seven European teams following completion of a three-round qualification process. For more information, click here.

The 2018 Men's World Championship will follow on from the record-breaking 2014 edition in Poland which was won by the competition hosts. The 2018 World Championship will be the 19th edition of a competition which was first played in 1949 in Prague in what was then Czechoslovakia.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines