The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Canadian McNamara twins net third All-American honour

Canadians Megan and Nicole McNamara led UCLA to the 2018 NCAA title while earning their third AVCA All-American award.
Lexington, USA, May 17, 2018 - Led by the McNamara twins from Canada, eight foreign players have been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association's (AVCA) seventh annual Collegiate Beach Volleyball All-America teams.

Eight different colleges and universities were represented on this year’s class with each netting their No. 1 pairs.  A total of three foreign players are earning multiple All-American honours, with UCLA’s pair of Megan and Nicole McNamara landing their third AVCA All-American award. Canadian Emily Maglio from the University of Hawaii was the other repeat All-American earning her second honour.

Joining the McNamaras (Vancouver, B. C.) and Maglio (Coquitlam, B.C.) as first-team All-Americans were Margherita Bianchin (Traviso, Italy) and Federica Frasca (Rome, Italy) from Florida International University, Tina Graudina (Jurmala, Latvia) from the University of Southern California and Tia Miric (Thornhill, Ont., Canada) from Cal Poly University at San Luis Obispo.  Nele Barber (Berlin, Germany) from Long Beach State University earned honorable mention honors. 

The 2018 selections were made by the AVCA Beach Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Beth Van Fleet (Georgia State University), Kristen Rohr (Grand Canyon University), Wayne Holly (Tulane University), Capri Grotowski (Florida Atlantic University), Jeff Hall (Hawaii), Anna Collier (University Southern California).

United States players on the AVCA's All-American team were Torrey Van Winden from Cal Poly, Victoria Paranagua and Vanessa Freire from Florida State University, Claire Coppola and Kristen Nuss from Louisiana State University, Madeline Mertz and Kaylie McHugh from Tulane, Ka'iwi Schucht from Hawai'i, and Abril Bustamante from Southern California.

Other honorable mention selections were Lily Justine and Sarah Sponcil from UCLA, Deahna Kraft and Corinne Quiggle from Pepperdine University and Molly Turner from Long Beach State.

UCLA captured the NCAA title May 6 by defeating Florida State 3-1 in the national collegiate championship match in Gulf Shores, Ala.  Hawaii placed third after losing to UCLA in the contender's bracket finals after Florida State advanced to the title match by capturing the winner's bracket finals.

At the Bridgestone USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships May 12 in Hermosa Beach, Calif., LSU's Coppola and Nuss defeated Florida State’s Hailey Luke and Katie Horton 2-1 (21-9, 17-21, 15-8) for the women's title.  Cal Poly’s Van Winden and Emily Sonny placed third after defeating Florida State’s Freire and Paranagua 2-0 (21-11, 25-23).

In the men’s championship match, Florida State’s Jon Justice and Adam Wienckowski came back to defeat Hawaii’s Colton Cowell and Brett Rosenmeier 2-1 (15-21, 28-26, 15-12).  Pepperdine’s Robert Mullahey and Owen Yoshimoto took third after beating Quincy College’s Collin Merk and Anthony Winter, 2-0 (21-18, 23-21).

The winning teams automatically qualified for the FISU World University Championships on July 9-13 in Munich, Germany.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Beach volleyball home page


Latest headlines