The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Volleyball Nations League: A new league is born

The Volleyball Nations League was unveiled in Paris, France during the FIVB's 70th anniversary celebration
Lausanne, Switzerland, October 16, 2017 – The volleyball community was quick to react to the announcement of the Volleyball Nations League on Thursday.

Announced at the FIVB's 70th anniversary celebrations in Paris, the Volleyball Nations League features both men’s and women’s leagues, with 12 core teams and four challenger teams playing in a round robin format.

Volleyball and beach volleyball icons witnessed the unveiling of the Volleyball Nations League.

And as the sport moves into a new era, there is certainly a lot to look forward to.

The men’s event features core teams Brazil, Italy, USA, China, Serbia, France, Argentina, Iran, Poland, Germany, Japan and Russia; and challengers Australia, Korea, Canada and Bulgaria. 

The women’s competition includes Brazil, Italy, USA, China, Serbia, the Netherlands, Thailand, Turkey, Korea, Germany, Japan and Russia; and challenger teams Argentina, Dominican Republic, Poland and Belgium.

And it all begins in 2018. Read more here: FIVB announces the Volleyball Nations League

Quick links - Volleyball: - Volleyball
Latest Videos
Media Guides


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines