The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Quesada and Pena to play early match in Cayman Islands

The athletes competing in the Cayman NORCECA tournament
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, April 21, 2017 – Cubans Daisel Quesada and Karell Pena, winners of the first competition of the year in La Paz, Mexico, will step into the sand on early Friday in one of the first men’s matches of Cayman Islands Beach Volleyball.

Playing in Pool A, Quesada and Pena will meet Maverick Hatch and Garrett May of Canada-B at 9:30 while Marlon Phillip and Daniel Williams of Trinidad & Tobago will play Ruben Mora and Dany Lopez of Nicaragua.

Also at 9:30 in Pool A, the first female match will see Melissa Burrowes and Ileann Powery of Cayman Islands-B playing La Teisha Joseph and Apphia Glasgow of Trinidad & Tobago.

The tournament is the second leg of the 2017 NORCECA Circuit. Six more tournaments follow with the next taking place in Oho Rios from June 22-26. 

Men’s Pools
Pool A: Karell Pena/Daisel Quesada (CUB), Maverick Hatch/Garrett May (CAN-B), Ruben Mora/Dany Lopez (NCA), Marlon Phillip/Daniel Williams (TRI). Pool B: Aaron Nusbaum/Ryan Vandeburg (CAN-A), Mark Burik/William Kolinske (USA-A), Jon Mesko/Skylar del Sol (USA-B), David Vargas/Carlos Escobar (ESA). Pool C: Orlando Irizarry/Juan Ribas (PUR), Casey Santamaría/David Wood (CAY), Andy Leonardo/Luis García (GUA), St Clair Hodge/Kemoroy Percival (SKN).
Women’s Pools
Pool A: Lidiannis Echeverria/Leila Martinez (CUB), Melissa Burrowes/Ileann Powery (CAY-B), La Teisha Joseph/Apphia Glashow (TRI). Pool B: Maria J. Orellana/Blanca Recinos (GUA), Betsi Flint/Kelley Larsen (USA-A), Sider/Caleigh Cruickshank (CAN-B). Pool C: Lolette Rodriguez/Swan Mendoza (NCA), Valeria Porrata/Ashley Vasquez (PUR), Amber Bennett/Melanie Valenciana (ISV). Pool D: Jamie Broder/Caleigh Whitaker (CAN-A), Jace Pardon/Lara Dykstra (USA-B), Marisa Harrison/Stefania Gandolfi (CAY-A), Williams/Quesada (CRC).


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Beach volleyball home page


Latest headlines