The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Puerto Rico to host World Olympic Qualification Tournament

Puerto Rico will host the World Olympic Qualification Tournament from May 20-22
Lausanne, Switzerland, March 1, 2016 - San Juan, Puerto Rico has been selected to host the Women's World Olympic Qualification Tournament from May 20-22. The four-team competition will take place at the Coliseo Roberto Clemente and qualify the winners for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Puerto Rico has a long-standing experience of organising international sports events and over the years has hosted 12 continental volleyball championships, FIVB Volleyball World League and World Grand Prix events as well as the 2015 edition of the FIVB Volleyball U20 Women's World Championship. The World Olympic Qualification Tournament will be one of the biggest sporting events in Puerto Rico in the build-up to the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Players and travelling fans will be welcomed to the vibrant city of San Juan by a wide selection of hotels and restaurants. Accessible from the recently renovated Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport, the Roberto Clemente Coliseum is a modern multisport complex with a capacity for 10,000 spectators.

The World Olympic Qualification Tournament in Puerto Rico will decide which country claims the 12th and last berth up for grabs at this year's Summer Games’ women's volleyball tournament.

The winners will join seven countries that have already qualified for this year’s Olympic tournament, including hosts Brazil, FIVB Volleyball Women's World Cup winners China and runners-up Serbia, European Olympic Qualification Tournament winners Russia, NORCECA Olympic Qualification winners USA, South American Olympic Qualification Tournament winners Argentina, and African Olympic Qualification Tournament winners Cameroon.

Four more teams will join the competition in Rio from the World Olympic Qualification Tournament and Asian Olympic Qualification Tournament scheduled to take place from May 14 to 22 in Japan.

Click here for more information about the Olympic qualification process.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines