The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Trinidad and Tobago set to host Men’s NORCECA Continental Cup event

Beach Volleyball teams from fourteen countries are taking part in the Caribbean first-round tournament of the NORCECA Continental Cup in Trinidad
Cascade, Trinidad, May 8, 2015 - The Trinidad and Tobago Volleyball Federation will play host to the Caribbean Men’s NORCECA Beach Volleyball Continental Cup that takes place at the National Development Centre, Saith Park, Chaguanas from May 8 to 10.

The tournament will feature 28 teams of two men’s teams each from Aruba, Barbados, Bahamas, Bonaire, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Suriname, Turks and Caicos, US Virgin Islands and host Trinidad and Tobago.

Trinidad and Tobago and Aruba, the top-seeded countries, both have a first round bye

The preliminary inquiry was conducted by the control committee headed by Tournament Director Arnaldo Sanchez on Thursday night at the Cascadia Hotel and Conference Centre, and followed by the Technical Meeting.

However, only ten of the teams were present as Aruba, USVI Martinique and Turks and Caicos all arrived on late flights and will have their briefing before the start of the tournament on Friday - which gets going with Guadeloupe against Bonaire.

The 14-team tournament will be played using the double-elimination format at the end of which the top six ranked teams will be granted spots in a second round tournament of the NORCECA qualifiers pitted against the top six teams from the Eastern Caribbean Zonal Volleyball Association (ECVA).

Each series will be contested via best-of-three with the third and deciding tie if needed being determined through a "Golden Set" up to 15 points, or a two-point advantage in case of a tied series.

The ECVA held it first round qualifiers two weeks ago with St Lucia emerging as champions followed by Antigua and Barbuda, St Kitts/Nevis, Dominica, St Vincent and The Grenadines, and Dutch St Marteen.

CAZOVA President Mushtaque Mohammed first praised the efforts of all the regional bodies for having a team involved in the qualifiers.

He said: “From a CAZOVA perspective, we are delighted to have all 14 countries registered to compete. In the wome's competition, we had 12 of the 14 and this was because Bonaire and Turks and Caicos do not have women’s teams in place as yet.”

With regards to the venue, Mohammed said he was very confident that it will meet and even surpass the standard required for this level of competition, as it was also used for the Continental Cup qualifiers for the London 2012 Olympics.

Looking ahead to the three days of competition, Mohammed said: “Nine of the teams involved have participated on the NORCECA Tour in the past, so we know what to expect from them. We don't know the other five as well, but we expect them to be competitive too

Daymian Stewart, President of the Trinidad and Tobago Volleyball Federation was quick to point out that his federation was very proud to do its part in the development of beach volleyball, by hosting the Olympic qualifiers.

However, he also highlighted the fact that it was no coincidence that the top three countries at the women’s qualifiers in Jamaica last weekend were the same countries as the ones hosting beach volleyball events, namely Jamaica, the Cayman Islands and Trinidad and Tobago.

He added, “It’s also a momentous occasion for CAZOVA, and it’s the first single event in which all its 14 members will participate

Stewart also saluted the support of all the sponsors that have come aboard for the event and thanked the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (T&TOC), headed by President Brian Lewis, for its full support.

CAZOVA Men’s Rio Olympic qualifiers - Countries participating:

Aruba-A (Elmerlindo Robles De Medina/Dwayne Angela), Aruba-B (Fransua Angela/Michaello Martilia). Bahamas-A (Princtanique Wilson/Byron Ferguson), Bahamas-B (Renaldo Knowles/Mullet Petit). Barbados-A (Winston Gittens/ Elwyn Oxley), Barbados-B (Daran Gill/Sheldon Roach). Bonaire-A (Emanuel Silie/ Deebro Trinidad), Bonaire-B (Richison Frans/Percy Prudencia). Cayman Islands-A (Kirk Shervin Rankin, Richard Campbell), Cayman Islands-B (Olney Thompson/ Phillippe Des Landes). Curacao-A (Darwin Colina/Jeandro Tokaay), Curacao-B (Norandy Bonafasia/Kiran Ersilia). Guadeloupe-A (Baptiste Arnouts/Cedric Lavoye), Guadeloupe-B (Guillaume Coudevylle/Loic Couchy). Haiti-A (Fritz-Emmanuel Mabou/Kempes Vilmont), Haiti-B  (Senel Volvick Dupuy/Alexis Marco). Jamaica-A (Mark Lewis/Ryck McKenzie-Webb), Jamaica-B (Donovan Richards/Christopher Walters). Martinique-A (Freddy Africa/Derek Lienafa), Martinique-B (Jefferson Lopes/Edouard Lowinsky). Suriname-A (Keven Sporkslede/Furgil Ong A Fat), Suriname-B (Eurwin Daans/Roberto Joval). Trinidad & Tobago-A (Fabien Whitfield/Daneil Williams), Trinidad & Tobago-B (Tevin Joseph/Josiah Eccles). Turks & Caicos-A (Edner Cox/Darado Fulford), Turks & Caicos-B (Jephte Moncher/Tanikko De Angels). U.S. Virgin Islands-A (Gustavo Cintron/Bradley Riding-Connor), U.S. Virgin Islands-B (Edward Peter Jr/Carlos Rosa).


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Beach volleyball home page


Latest headlines