The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Colombia to host Men's World Cup Qualifiers

Buenos Aires, Argentina, April 29, 2015 – South American Qualifiers for the Men’s World Cup Japan 2015 will be held in Cali, Colombia, from May 19 to 24. 

Argentina, Chile, Colombia and Venezuela will compete at the World Cup Cali 2015. The preliminary phase will be played in a round-robin system, followed by semifinals and finals.

The World Cup Qualifier Cali 2015 is organized by the Colombian Volleyball Federation and supervised by the International Volleyball Federation.

Half of the teams participating in the 2015 edition of the FIVB Volleyball World Cup are now known, with hosts Japan joined by Poland, Iran, Australia, Russia and Italy.

The Women’s World Cup will take place from August 22 to September 6. Japan, USA, China, Korea, Russia and Serbia have already qualified for the women’s event.

The teams already qualified for the competition will be joined by two countries per gender from Africa and the North, Central America and Caribbean Confederation, in addition to South America. 

The two teams per gender representing Africa will be decided based on the final standings at the African Nations Championships, which are due to take place from June 10-20 (Women) and July 12-22 (Men). The NORCECA Champions Cup Final Four from May 19-24 (Men) and June 3-8 (Women) will decide which teams represent the North, Central America & Caribbean Confederation.

The World Cup winners and runners-up will qualify for the Rio Olympic Games in 2016. 

Brazil will not participate in either the women’s or the men’s World Cup as they are already qualified for next year’s Games in Rio as the competition hosts.

The last edition of the World Cup in 2011 saw Italy win the women’s competition ahead of USA, China, Japan and Brazil. The men’s title went to Russia, who finished clear of Poland, Brazil, Italy, Cuba and USA.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines