The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

World Cup promises fireworks

Last year's world champions USA will face tough opposition at the World Cup in Japan
Lausanne, Switzerland, March 11, 2015 - Half of the teams participating in the 2015 edition of the FIVB Volleyball World Cup are now known, with hosts Japan joined by USA, China, Korea, Russia and Serbia in the women’s competition, and the hosts taking on Poland, Iran, Australia, Russia and Italy in the men’s event.

The World Cup is the principal volleyball tournament this year and will gather a selection of the best teams in the world from August 22-September 6 (Women) and September 8-23 (Men). It will also qualify two teams per gender for the Rio de Janeiro Olympics in 2016.

Teams already qualified:
Women: Japan, USA, China, Korea, Russia and Serbia
Men: Japan, Poland, Iran, Australia, Russia and Italy

Five of the top eight teams at the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 are already qualified for the women’s World Cup event, with hosts Japan (7th at the Women's World Championship) taking on world champions USA (1st), China (2nd), Korea – who did not participate in the Italian competition – Russia (5th) and Serbia (7th).

China lost to the United States in four sets in the final of the Women's World Championship

The men’s World Cup tournament will see Japan take on world champions Poland, the top two teams in the Asian Volleyball Confederation ranking at the beginning of 2015, Iran and Australia, and Russia and Italy, who were top of the CEV team ranking at the beginning of the year. Russia are the most decorated team in the men’s World Cup competition, having won the event on six occasions (including predecessor the Soviet Union). Iran are arguably the most improved men’s team in 2014 after finishing the FIVB Volleyball World League in fourth position and the Men's World Championship in sixth.

Iran were arguably one of the most improved men's teams in 2014

The teams already qualified for the competition will be joined by two countries per gender from Africa, the North, Central America and Caribbean Confederation, and South America. The African teams participating will qualify via the African Nations Championships, which take place in June and July. The South American teams will qualify for the World Cup via events to be confirmed, which will take place in the first half of 2015, while NORCECA will send the best teams at the Champions Cup Final Four events in May and June.

Brazil will not participate in either the women’s or the men’s World Cup as they are already qualified for next year’s Games in Rio as the competition hosts.

The last edition of the World Cup in 2011 saw Italy win the women’s competition ahead of USA, China, Japan and Brazil. The men’s event title went to Russia, who finished clear of Poland, Brazil, Italy, Cuba and USA.

Click here for more information about the FIVB Volleyball World Cup.

Related news:
World Cup 2015 qualification process confirmed


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines