The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Puerto Rican League ready for Women’s All Star Game

Sheila Ocasio, who has played with the National Team, will represent the Juncos Valencianas as part of the Puerto Rican Natives Team
San Juan, Puerto Rico, February 27, 2015 - The Volleyball Federation of Puerto Rico has announced the Native and Foreign Player team rosters for the Women’s Superior League All Star Game, which will take place on March 2 at the Rafael Amalbert Coliseum in the city of Juncos.

The Natives’ squad will be composed of 12 players that were active with the national team during the 2014 season, while a total of 10 players not born in Puerto Rico will be part of the Foreign and Imported Stars team.

The Natives’ team setters are Vilmarie Mojica (Juncos) and Natalia Valentin (Ponce Volleyball Club). The middle blockers selected are Sheila Ocasio (Juncos), Odemaris Díaz (Carolina), and Jessica Candelario (Mayagüez). The outside hitters are Stephanie Enright (Caguas), Yarimar Rosa (Juncos), Legna Hernández (Ponce) and Vanessa Vélez (Carolina), while the opposite players nominated are Shirley Ferrer (Catano), Sarai Alvarez (Mayaguez) and Karina Ocasio (Caguas). Nayka Benitez of Ponce and Deborah Seilhamer of Catano were selected as liberos, while Juan Carlos Nunez was selected as head coach, assisted by Gabriel Rodríguez, Luis García, Cristian Martínez and Víctor Correa.

The Imported stars will play with a roster of 10 players, coached by Rigoberto “Rigo” Guilloty, whose technical staff will be composed by Henry Collazo, Carlos Almeyda and Fernando Torres.

Kim Willoughby and Lauren Cook from the United States had been nominated but due to injuries and personal issues have had to return to their country. Cook was released by the Mayaguez Indians after suffering a right hand injury and will return to the United States for possible surgery. Wiloughby will miss the All Star Game for family reasons.

As a result, Caguas Criollas’s Jennifer Nogueras was chosen to play as setter, and will be joined by Olena Ustymenko of the Cataño Lancheras.

“We chose Jennifer Nogueras after she played a very good season as a rookie,” said Puerto Rican Volleyball Federation Vice President Elliot Matias.

Two Cuban players will appear as middle blockers: Yasary Castrodad (Juncos) and Dulce María Téllez (Catano). Two of the best foreign liberos were also added to the roster: Greyshmarie Pérez (Naranjito) and Stephanie Salas (Carolina).
Caithlyn Donahue (Catano) was selected as setter, while Jessica Jones (Caguas) will play as middle blocker. Kristy Jaeckel (Naranjito), Savannah Leaf (Caguas) and McKenzie Adams (Mayaguez) were selected to play as outside hitters.

The foreigners' team will also include Elizabeth McMahon (Juncos), Chaniel Nelson (Ponce) and Rachel Kidder (Carolina).

This will be the tenth time that the Natives and Imported Volleyball Stars will play. The Imported Stars have won seven of the nine previous matches. The Natives won in 2002 and 2008.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines