The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Beach Volleyball Back on Stanley Street

Teams prepare for a match
Aukland, New Zealand, February 19, 2014 - The 2015 National Beach Volleyball Tour returns to the ASB Tennis Centre at Stanley Street with the NZ Open on February 20 for three days of exciting International Beach Volleyball.

This beach season has included events at Mt Maunganui, Lake Karapiro and Mairangi Bay. With the
support of a new partner Boomo, mobile app partner, and the progressive North Harbour Volleyball Association, the tour concludes with 100 cubic metres of sand being moved onto the Centre Court at Stanley Street.

Volleyball New Zealand CEO, Paul Cameron says, “Boomo has provided an opportunity to bring the
exciting game of Beach Volleyball back on Centre Court. New Zealand’s top players, including
recently qualified World Championship contenders Mike Watson and Sam O’Dea will be in action.”

The Open includes 12 teams in both Men’s and Women’s fields. Volleyball New Zealand is pleased
to confirm the 8 New Zealand teams per gender that will go directly into the main draw.

Watson/O’Dea will be joined in the Men’s main draw by Rene Kapa/Thomas Hartles, Charlie
Stewart/Liam Munday, Brad Fullerton/Daryl Lewis, Griffin Muller/Paora Morunga, Morgan
Seymour/Calvin Buttermore, Thomas Reid/Kahurangi Robinson and Johnny Kessenich/Max Longdill.

In the Women’s main draw the New Zealand contingent is led by Melissa Ruru/Danielle Quigley, Julia Tilley/Shaunna Polley, Alice Bain/Bex Story, Susana Vega/Shannen Bagge, Kiana Tawa/Emma Flynn, Georgia Morton/Emily Johnston, Annalise Vukets/Renei Ursem and Antonia Harrison/Rachael Gunn.

These 8 teams will be joined by the teams that are still to be confirmed through the qualification
tournament, as well as the top international teams that have entered, including the German men’s
pairing of Christoph Gruenaug and Martin Kaufer and the Vanuatu women’s pairing of Linline
Matauatu and Miller Pata, who placed 9th at the 2013 World Championships.

The main draw teams will gather at the ASB Tennis Centre on Thursday February 19 at 8pm for the Tournament briefing and media function. Pool play in the main draw begins at 9am on Friday
February 20.

World renown Beach Volleyball Referee, Richard “Sooty” Casutt, who has over 1000 international
beach referee caps, including officiating at three Olympic Games, is the Tournament Director.
Cameron confirms, “the hype is mounting daily.”


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page


Latest headlines