The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Olympic Volleyball Qualification format and dates confirmed for Africa

CAVB Zone Presidents' Meeting in Cairo approved the Olympic Qualification format

Cairo, Egypt, December 18, 2014- The format and dates of the African Olympic qualifications for Rio de Janeiro 2016 was confirmed during the CAVB Zone presidents' Meeting held in Cairo, Egypt on Thursday headed by CAVB President Dr Amr Elwani.

The zone presidents proposed to start the procedure with zonal qualifications during November and December 2015 from which 12 teams will qualify from the zones as follows: 
• One team from zones 1 and 7 
• Two teams from zones 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6
Those teams will be added to the top three from the FIVB World Ranking as per January 2015 and the organiser of the final tournament, which will take place from January to March 2016 to make a total of 16 teams in the final tournament. The champions of the final tournament will earn the African ticket to the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games.

Qualifications for the 2015 All Africa Games will be also at the zonal level April 15 to May 14, 2015. Eleven teams from the seven zones will qualify and be added to the organisers for Congo Brazzaville as follows: 
• One team from zones 1, 4 and 7 
• Two teams from zones 2, 3, 5 and 6

N.B. Zone 4 will earn one ticket from the qualifier as the organisers Congo Brazzaville belongs to this zone.

The meeting also discussed the format of the second edition of the CAVB Continental Cup which acts as a qualifier for the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games beach volleyball.

The competition will feature four phases as approved by the FIVB. The first phase is the sub- zonal which already started early this month with zone 6 as the first to finalise both pools. The top two teams in each of the 12 sub- zonal pools (24 teams) will proceed to the second phase which is the zonal phase to be again divided into four pools of six teams with the top three of each proceeding to the semifinal (12 teams in total).

The semifinals will again qualify the top eight teams to the finals of the continental cup where the champions earn their tickets to Rio de Janeiro 2016.

The format and system of the qualification in the semifinal will be proposed by the CAVB Beach Commission in January 2015.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page
   Beach volleyball home page


Latest headlines