The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

World Grand Prix Group 1 match schedule approved

The World Grand Prix Group 1 Finals will take place in Omaha, USA
Lausanne, Switzerland, December 1, 2014 – The match schedule for Group 1 of the 2015 edition of the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix has been announced with title-holders Brazil to take on 2014 finalists Japan in their first match in the competition.

2015 FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix Group 1 calendar

The pool round matches in Group 1 will take place over three weeks from Friday July 3 to Saturday July 18, with the twelve teams in Group 1 split into three different pools each weekend. The pool round will be followed by the 2015 World Grand Prix Group 1 Finals, to be played in Omaha, USA from July 22-26.

In Week 1, which will take place from July 3-5, Pool A - to be played in Thailand - will be composed of Brazil, Serbia, Japan and Thailand. Pool B hosts China will take on Russia, Dominican Republic and Germany, while Pool C will see hosts Turkey play USA, Italy and Belgium.

In Week 2, which is scheduled to take place from July 10-12, reigning champions Brazil will be grouped with Belgium, Germany and Thailand in Pool D, which is to be played in Brazil. Pool E - to be played in Japan - will include China, Japan, Dominican Republic and Italy. Group F, which will be played in Russia, will see Turkey take on USA, Russia and Serbia.

In the third week of pool action, with matches from July 16-18, Pool G - to be played in Italy - will feature Brazil, Russia, Italy and Belgium. Pool H, which will be played in Hong Kong, will contain China, USA, Japan and Thailand. Finally, Pool I, which will be played in Germany, will see Turkey play Serbia, Dominican Republic and Germany.

The 23rd edition of the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix, which is the International Volleyball Federation’s premier annual competition for women’s national teams, will run from June 26 to August 1, 2015. The 2014 edition of the World Grand Prix, which featured 28 participating countries for the first time, saw Brazil triumph for a record 10th time. Japan claimed silver and Russia bronze, their first World Grand Prix medal for five years.

Related news:
World Grand Prix Council confirms Group 2 and 3 schedule


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines