The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Dominicans go after fourth straight gold in regional games

The Dominican Republic won a third consecutive set of gold medals in women's volleyball in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico in the 2010 edition of the Central American and Caribbean Games
Cordoba, México, November 13, 2014 - Three-time defending champions the Dominican Republic are the pre-tournament favourites of the women’s volleyball competition at the XXII Central American and Caribbean Games in Veracruz, Mexico.

The women’s volleyball tournament kicks off on Saturday in the city of Cordoba one day after the opening ceremony.

The Dominicans, sixth in the FIVB world rankings following their fifth place at the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014, are competing in Pool A with Cuba, Colombia and Venezuela. Pool B consists of teams from Puerto Rico, Costa Rica, Trinidad and Tobago and hosts Mexico.

Day one of the competition features the matches of Cuba against Colombia and the Dominican Republic versus Venezuela in Pool A while Puerto Rico take on Costa Rica and Mexico meet Trinidad and Tobago.

For the complete schedule go to: Calendar

The Dominican team began their winning streak in 2002 in El Salvador and continued with gold medals in 2006 in Cartagena, Colombia and 2010 in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico. They have five gold medals in all with their titles from 1946 and 1962.

The Dominicans’ historical record also includes a silver medal in 1998 and four bronzes in 1966, 1974, 1978 and 1982, for a total of 10 podiums.
In the women’s tournament, Cuba is the most successful team, with a total of 8 gold medals including seven in a row between 1974 and 1998. The Cubans have also finished second twice, for a total of 10 medals at Central American and Caribbean Games.
The only other team awarded gold medals are Mexico, with three (1938, 1959, 1970), as well as seven silver medals (1966, and from 1974 through 1993), and also three bronze medals (in 1946, 1962 and 2002) for a total of 13 podiums.
Women’s Year by Year Podiums

Year Gold Silver Bronze
1938     MEX PUR     PAN
1946     DOM PUR     MEX
1959     MEX VEN     AHO
1962     DOM PUR     MEX
1966     CUB MEX     DOM
1970     MEX CUB     VEN
1974     CUB MEX     DOM
1978     CUB MEX     DOM
1982     CUB MEX     DOM
1986     CUB MEX     VEN
1990     CUB MEX     VEN
1993     CUB MEX     VEN
1998     CUB DOM     VEN
2002     DOM VEN     MEX
2006     DOM CUB     PUR
2010     DOM PUR     CRC
Composite Medal Table

Country G S B Total
CUB 8 2 0 10
DOM 5 1 4 10
MEX 3 7 3 13
PUR 0 4 1 5
VEN 0 2 5 7
PAN 0 0 1 1
AHO 0 0 1 1
CRC 0 0 1 1


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines