The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Women’s World Championship Media Guide out now

2010 Women's World Championship title holders, Russia, will be hoping for a repeat of their success at this year's edition of the tournament
Lausanne, Switzerland, September 9, 2014 – The official FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 Media Guide is now available for download. 

As the Men’s World Championship enters the second round of action on Wednesday, the countdown also begins to the Women’s World Championship, which will take place from September 23 to October 12. The 17th edition of the tournament, which began in 1952, will take place in the cities of Bari, Milan, Modena, Rome, Trieste and Verona.

The 240-page Media Guide features extensive information on the 24 teams participating in the World Championship. Full team rosters are provided, teams and coaches are profiled, and statistics highlight standout elements for each team. The Media Guide reviews how each of the participating teams qualified for the competition, provides a detailed tournament schedule and information on the competition formula.

Details of the tournament venues are also covered, with information on the cities and halls welcoming the competition. Finally, the Media Guide also provides information about the rules of the game, referee signals, the history of volleyball and on the International Volleyball Federation's principal competitions.

Italy is the 11th country to host the Women’s World Championships. The nations who have previously hosted the competition are; Japan (four times), the Soviet Union (three times), Brazil (twice), France, Bulgaria, Mexico, Peru, Czechoslovakia, China and Germany.

Russia are the most successful nation in the history of the Women’s World Championships having also won the 2010 edition that was held in Japan. Olympic champions Brazil will be looking for their first win ever in the tournament, following a historic 10th FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix title earlier this year.

Click here to download the official FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 Media Guide.

Click here to visit the official website of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines