The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Defending champions and Olympic monarchs in action on Day Three

The FIVB Men's actions move on to the cities of Katowice and Gdansk
Katowice, Poland, September 1, 2014 – Day Three at the 2014 FIVB Men’s World Championships visits the cities of Katowice and Gdansk as the volleyball festival continues displaying exciting shows of athleticism surrounded by the enthusiasm of loyal fans.

Six matches will take place on Monday with the three-time defending champions Brazil and Olympic champions Russia stepping into the court for the first time in the 18th edition of the quadrennial event.

Brazil v Germany
Three-time defending champions and No. 1 Brazil begin their campaign for an unprecedented fourth title in a row when the forces of Bernardo Rezende clash against the 10th ranked Germany kicking off the actions of Pool B in Katowice on Monday.

The two teams have faced each other five times at the World Championships with the South American side prevailing in all five encounters, including four victories in straight sets. The dominance by the Brazilians extend to other high-level competitions where they have built a 15-match winning streak since two defeats to Germany in the 1993 World League.

Key points
•Brazil dethroned Italy in 2002 and have ruled the World Championship since then
• Brazil are the No. 1 ranked team but lost he World League Finals to United States
•The Brazilians have won 25 of their last World Championship matches
• Germany won the title in 1979 as German Democratic Republic (GDR)

Finland v Cuba
History takes side with Cuba as the Caribbean islanders meet Finland in the second match in Katowice as the recently crowned Pan American Cup champions won their only contest 3-0 in the 1966 edition of the world championships.

Besides that victory almost 50 years ago, Cuba have been victorious in all four other matches with Finland in the World League, all contested in 1993. The Finns are returning to the world championships for the first time since 1982 and seventh in total.

Key points
•Cuba finished second in the last edition of the world championships in 2010 in Rome
• Finland have lost all their six previous opening matches
•Cuba were runners-up also in 1990 and won the bronze in 1978 and 1998

Korea v Tunisia
Korea and Tunisia have met two times in the history of the world championships splitting honours in those two clashes.

The Koreans won 3-0 exactly 50 years ago in 1974 while more recently the North-African Tunisians claimed a 3-2 decision in 2006.

The 19th world-ranked Korea have been triumphant in nine of 10 matches against the No. 14 Tunisia at the Olympics, World Cup and World Championships with eight of those victories coming

by score of 3-0.

Key points
•Korea’s best result in their previous eighth World Championships was a 4th place in 1978
• Korea have won three of their last 14 World Championship matches
•Tunisia’s best ranking is a 15th place in 2006 and they ended 19th in 2010

Russia v Canada
Olympic champions Russia and Canada open the curtains of Pool C in Gdansk with the Russians having won the previous two matches against the North American side at the World Championships by 3-2 score in 1994 and 3-0 in 2006.

The up-and-coming Canada, ranked No. 15 in the world, won the last match the two teams had at a big event with the Canadians prevailing 3-2 in the Final Round of the 2013 World League.

Key points
•Russia won the World Championship a record 6 times when they participated as Soviet Union 
• The Russians are the only team to participate in the 18 editions of the World Championships
• Canada’s best result in nine previous appearances is a ninth place in 1994

Mexico v Bulgaria
Mexico and Bulgaria have met two times in the World Championships with Bulgaria coming out winners from both encounters in 1974 (3-0) and 1978 (3-2).

Mexico, currently ranked 22nd in the world, returned to the world championship in 2010 after being absent for 28 years. The 8th world-ranked Bulgaria are making their 17th appearance, only behind the Russians.

Key points
 •Bulgaria never have won the title but have one silver and four bronze medals
• Bulgaria finished in seventh place in 2010
• Mexico’s best rank was 10th when made their debut in 1974

China v Egypt
China and Egypt close the actions of the first day of Pool C in the city of Gdansk. The two sides have been together in the same court for a world championship match three times with the Chinese forces prevailing in those encounters.

China won the first two matches by 3-0 score but needed five sets to claim the third victory in 2006. They have not missed any edition of the World Championships since 1994 and this is their 13th appearance.

Key points
•China’s last victory at the World Championships was in 2006 against Egypt
• China’s best result is a 13th place in 2010
• Egypt’s last win at the World Championship was against Iran 3-0 in 2010


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines