The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

FIVB Women's team wrap up Grand Prix, turn focus to World Championships

The FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 begins September 23
Lausanne, Switzerland, August 23, 2014 – As the top women’s volleyball teams in the world wrap up their FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix run, fans can expect all teams to be at the top of their game, when the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014, begins in just one month’s time.

On September 23, Italy will host the quadrennial FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship through October 12. The 17th edition of the tournament, which began in 1952, will take place in the cities of Bari, Milan, Modena, Rome, Trieste and Verona.

A total of 24 teams will compete for the title following continental qualifications.

Pool A: Italy, Dominican Republic, Germany, Argentina, Coratia and Tunisia

Pool B: Brazil, Serbia, Turkey, Canada, Cameroon and Bulgaria

Pool C: USA, Russia, Thailand, the Netherlands, Kazakhstan and Mexico

Pool D: Japan, China, Cuba, Puerto Rico, Belgium and Azerbijan

Prior to the women’s event, the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championships begin in one week’s time, in Poland.  

Don’t miss any of the FIVB Women’s World Championship action! Follow @FIVBWomensWCH on Twitter.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines