The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Nanjing Youth Olympic women's bracket field confirmed

Canadians Nicole (left) and Megan McNamara No. 1 seeded team women's team.

Nanjing, China, August 22, 2014 - Led by the winning pairs from of the six pools, a total of 24 women’s teams have been confirmed for play in the single-elimination phase of the Beach Volleyball competition at the Nanjing 2014 Youth Olympic Games being played at a venue in the Nanjing Sports Park Complex.

Canadian twins Megan and Nicole McNamara of Canada will be the No. 1 seeded team in the bracket after capturing the top spot in Pool A when group competition concluded Friday evening at the Beach Volleyball venue.  The McNamaras netted the bronze medal at the FIVB under-19 world championships earlier this month in Porto, Portugal.

Pool B winner Brazil will be seeded second in the bracket followed by pairs from Uruguay (Pool C), Paraguay (Pool D), Germany (Pool E) and Russia (Pool F).  Tandems from Turkey and Latvia were the best second-place finishers and will be seeded seventh and eighth, respectively.

A total of nine European confederation teams have advanced to bracket play with six pairs from South America, five duos from the North, Central America and Caribbean group and four tandems from Africa.

Here’s is the list of teams advancing to the single-elimination bracket where first- and second-round matches will be played Sunday and the quarter-finals Monday.  The women’s semi-final and medal matches will be played Tuesday.

Seeded Teams

1. Megan McNamara/Nicole McNamara, Canada
2. Eduarda Lisboa/Ana Patricia Silva, Brazil
3. Lia Fortunati/Maria Rotti, Uruguay
4. Erika Bobadilla/Michelle Valiente, Paraguay
5. Lisa Arnholdt/Sarah Schneider, Germany
6. Nadezda Makroguzova/Daria Rudykh, Russia
7. Esra Cetin/Selin Yurtsever, Turkey
8. Tina Graudina/Anastasija Kravcenoka, Latvia

Group 1 Draw Teams
• Riski Dwi Andriani/Nanda Ragillia, Indonesia
• Mona Gesslbauer/Julia Radl, Austria
• Camila Hiruela/Irene Varasio, Argentina
• Dunja Gerson/Esther Rohrer, Switzerland
• Lezana Placette/Alexia Richard, France
• Tzu-Yi Pan/Yu-Rong Song, Chinese Taipei
• Briggitte Batioja/Mishelle Molina, Ecuador
• Fernanda Maida/Melanie Vargas, Bolivia

Group 2 Draw Teams
• Lina Bernier Colon/Valeria Cajigas, Puerto Rico
• Kristyna Adamcikova/Katerina Valkova, Czech Republic
• Phoebe Bell/Brittany Kendall, Australia
• Skylar Caputo/Susannah Muno, United States
• Sirinuch Kawfong/Saowaros Tangkaeo, Thailand
• Skye Mondesir/Dala Noel, Saint Lucia
• Irene Enzo/Michela Lantignotti, Italy
• Malika Davidson/Chelsi Ward, Trinidad and Tobago


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Beach volleyball home page


Latest headlines