The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

2014 FIVB World League Media Guide online

The 2014 FIVB Volleyball World League Media Guide features key information and statistics for all 28 teams

Lausanne, Switzerland, May 23, 2014 - The official 2014 FIVB Volleyball World League Media Guide is now available.

The Media Guide features information on every team set to compete in the 25th edition of the tournament as well as key statistics from past competitions and the most up-to-date schedule and competition formula.

It is the first time the FIVB’s premiere event will feature 28 teams. Having had 16 teams from 2001-2003 and 2006-2012, the World League featured eight teams in its inaugural year in 1990, 10 in 1991, 12 from 1992-2000 and 2004-05 and then 18 in the 2013 edition.

The Intercontinental Round will take place from May 23 and will run until July 6, 2014.

This year, Pool A features two of the most successful countries in the history of the World League with world No. 1 and nine-time champions Brazil along with eight time winners Italy, 2012 champions Poland and the rapidly improving Iran.

In Pool B are defending champions Russia, 2012 silver medallists USA, fourth-placed team at last year’s World League, Bulgaria and four-time runners-up Serbia.

Pool C features first time participants Belgium along with Canada, Australia and Finland while Argentina, Germany, France and Japan are in Pool D. Pool E features the Netherlands, Korea, the Czech Republic - who return to the World League after making their only previous appearance in 2003 - and Portugal.

Last year’s 13th place finishers Cuba are joined in Pool F by World League debutants Tunisia, Turkey and Mexico whilst Pool G sees Puerto Rico return after making their only appearance in 2011, China and Spain return after last appearing in 2010 and 2008 respectively while Slovakia will make their World League debut.

Following six weeks of Intercontinental Round pool play around the world, all eyes will turn towards Florence, host of the 2014 FIVB Volleyball World League Finals. The Finals will take place from July 16 to 20.

The 2014 FIVB World League Media Guide can be found here.

Click here for more information on the World League.

The FIVB Volleyball World League Live Scorebox is available here.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines