The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Teams in World Championships near completion

Twenty-three men's teams and 23 women's teams have qualified for the FIVB Volleyball World Championships

Lausanne, Switzerland, May 26, 2014 – The men’s teams of USA, Canada, Cuba and Mexico and the women’s teams of the Dominican Republic, USA, Cuba, Canada and Puerto Rico are the teams from NORCECA now qualified for the 2014 FIVB Volleyball World Championships.

With four of the five men’s teams and five of the six women’s teams in NORCECA already determined, the rosters of teams for the FIVB’s prime quadrennial event are nearing completion.

The final qualifying phase will be the NORCECA playoffs from mid-June in Trinidad for the women’s qualification, and from July 16 to 19 in Puerto Rico for the men’s qualification. The playoffs will feature the second-best teams from the qualifiers this month, who will play for the final tickets to the World Championships.


Finals hosts Poland, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil (three-time defending champions), Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, China, Cuba, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, Korea, Mexico, Russia, Serbia, Tunisia, USA and Venezuela are already confirmed for the 2014 FIVB Men’s World Championships, thus far.


In the NORCECA men’s third round of qualification for Poland 2014, 
USA earned a berth by sweeping Guatemala in the final match of Pool O (25-18, 25-22, 25-15). Meanwhile, Canada topped Pool Q after defeating Costa Rica in straight sets (25-14, 25-15, 25-16). In the process, coach Glen Hoag was able to get his goal of qualifying for the World Championship and get the chance to rotate his players and experience a big crowd, which is what they will be expecting when they play in the FIVB Volleyball World League. Cuba qualified for the World Championship by defeating the Dominican Republic 3-1 (25-14, 26-28, 25-18, 25-12), and Mexico will be traveling to Poland thanks to a victory against Pool R rivals Puerto Rico 3-0 (25-23, 25-21, 25-23).


Through the Asian Men’s Final Qualification Tournament last September, powerhouse Iran dominated Pool B, together with Australia (Pool A), China (Pool C) and Korea (Pool D). And since then, a big announcement was made last February when
Julio Velasco stepped down as coach of the Asian champions. Olympic champion and legendary volleyball player Slobodan Kovac replaced Velasco.


Cameroon, Egypt and Tunisia emerged as pool winners in the African Qualification Tournament. The three pools in the third round of qualification were composed of five teams each, where Cameroon secured top spot in Pool T, Egypt stunned hosts Kenya in Pool U, and Tunisia in Pool V.


Top South American favourites Brazil and Argentina finished first and second respectively in the continental championship last August. Last September 15, Venezuela won the final ticket allocated to South America in the World Championship.


Russia and Italy qualified through the 2013 CEV Men’s Volleyball European Championship, which took place from September 20 to 29. Bulgaria, Serbia, Germany, Belgium and Finland have qualified for the World Championship through the third round of qualifiers. France got the ticket to Poland 2014 as they emerged as the best second place team from the third round of qualifiers. Poland got an automatic qualification as host country.


In the women's competition, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, China, Croatia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Germany, Japan, Kazakhstan, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Russia, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey and USA, as well as hosts Italy, have secured their place in the 2014 FIVB World Championship thus far.


Cuba’s 14-year-old Melissa Vargas smashed her way through to win MVP honours and led her team to win the Pool Q final in straight sets (25-18, 25-20, 25-13) victory over Trinidad and Tobago. The Cubans were spot-on as they won all their matches with a 3-0 set score. In Pool P, The Dominican Republic will be taking part in the World Championship for the seventh time, after crushing Nicaragua 3-0 (25-10, 25-8, 25-11) in front of the packed home crowd in La Romana. USA satisfied their home fans with their dominating performance over Panama in Pool O (25-18, 25-5, 25-5). The USA squad served 14 aces in the final and paraded with an impressive record through the entire tournament without dropping a set. Meanwhile, Canada clinched the top spot in the final of Pool S by beating Mexico in straight sets (25-16, 25-19, 25-17). Puerto Rico, who are the latest to team to qualify, overwhelmed Costa Rica 3-0 (
25-14, 25-16, 25-11) in Pool R.


Two pools of qualification were set up for Asian teams, where the top two teams in each pool will qualify for the World Championship. Thailand and Japan were the two best teams in Pool A, while China and Kazakhstan bested their opponents in Pool B, finishing in first and second place, respectively.


and Tunisia rallied past their opponents in their respective pools to secure the two slots for Africa in the World Championship. Cameroon rose to the challenge of top African teams Egypt and Algeria in Pool A, while Tunisia topped Pool B at the expense of hosts Kenya.


As the top two teams in the 2013 CEV Women’s Volleyball European Championship, Russia and Germany have qualified for the World Championship, joining host country Italy. Turkey, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Croatia and Bulgaria ruled their respective pools in the third round of the qualification tournaments for Europe. Serbia and the Netherlands came in as the second best teams in the qualification tournament, completing the 10 qualified teams in Europe.


Brazil’s victory in the South American Women’s Championship in Peru rewarded them with two qualification tickets - one for the FIVB World Grand Champions Cup, and another for the FIVB World Championship. Brazil’s South American rivals Argentina earned the World Championship qualification through the South American Qualification Tournament.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines