The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Makowski announces Polish 22 player roster for the year ahead

This year's women's line up for Poland includes a mix of new as well as more experienced players

Warsaw, Poland, April 17, 2014 – Ahead of the FIVB World Grand Prix season, the coach of the national women’s team of Poland, Piotr Makowski, has announced his selection of 22 players for the year.

The 22 players on the roster for the 2014 volleyball season are: 


Emilia Kajzer, Izabela Belcik, Joanna Wolosz, Paulina Baldyga


Izabela Kowalinska, Katarzyna Zaroslinska, Malwina Smarzek


Aleksandra Wojcik, Daria Paszek, Elzbieta Skowronska, Julia Twardowska, Klaudia Kaczorowska, Natalia Kurnikowska, Magdalena Damaske

Middle blockers:

Agnieszka Bednarek-Kasza, Agnieszka Kakolewska, Katarzyna Polec, Kornelia Moskwa, Maja Tokarska


Agata Durajczyk, Anna Korabiec, Dorota Medynska

Poland will join 27 other teams in this year’s FIVB World Grand Prix. The 28 teams were split into three groups based on world ranking (with the exceptions of Belgium and Cuba, who had qualified via continental qualification tournaments, and Australia who participate as part of the Oceania development program).

A Drawing of Lots was conducted on December 2, allocating teams into the respective pools (by group) based on a predetermined formula.

Poland will play in group 2 (Pools J to O) which includes seven other teams -  Peru, Puerto Rico, the Netherlands, Argentina, Canada, Cuba and Belgium.

Group 1 (Pools A to I) features 12 teams including defending champions, London 2012 Olympic winners and world No. 1 Brazil, USA, Japan, China, Russia, Italy, Serbia, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Korea, Turkey and Thailand.

In addition to this year’s FIVB World Grand Prix, the Polish women’s team will also be taking part in the qualification tournaments for the 2015 CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women and will be making their debut in the CEV Volleyball European League – Women.

The squad’s first official appearance will be in the second Round of qualification for the 2015 CEV Volleyball European Championship - Women, scheduled in May. The Polish ladies will play in Pool B in the company of Switzerland, Ukraine and the country qualified from the first round of Pool 1 matches featuring the teams of Georgia, Latvia, Norway and Sweden.

Two single round robin tournaments will take place from May 16 through 18 in Lugano (SUI) and from May 23 through 25 in Bydgoszcz (POL).


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines