The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Match times announced for FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship first round


Lausanne, Switzerland, April 14, 2014 – The FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 has marked another significant milestone with the announcement of the match times for the first round of the tournament scheduled to take place from August 31 to September 7.

With the matches of pools A, B, C and D set to be held in Poland’s cities of Wroclaw, Katowice, Gdansk and Krakow respectively, the organisers announced that the first match in each venue will take place at 13:00 (first whistle at 13:10), the second at 16:30 (first whistle at 16:40) and the third at 20:15 (first whistle at 20:25).

The quadrennial FIVB Men’s World Championship event will begin on August 30 with an opening ceremony followed by the opening match between Poland and Serbia at the Warsaw National Stadium, with the timings of these two events yet to be confirmed.

The organisers also announced a change to the order of the matches set to take place in Wroclaw on September 7. The first match of the venue between Australia and Venezuela will take place at 13:00, while the second between Poland and Argentina will begin at 16:30 and the third between Serbia and Cameroon at 20:15.

Current world champions, Brazil will begin the bid for their fourth successive World Championship title on September 1 when they take on Germany in a pool B match in Katowice. Olympic champions and 2013 World League winners, Russia will also play their first match on the same day in Gdansk, against the NORCECA representative in Group C.

The composition of the pools for the first round of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 was decided at the Drawing of Lots held in Warsaw on January 27, 2014.

A total of 24 teams will compete for the title in the FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship Poland 2014, with the host country automatically qualified for the quadrennial event.

To date 19 out of 24 teams have booked their place at this year’s Men’s World Championship event. In addition to Poland, the following eight European countries have also qualified through the CEV qualification tournaments: Russia, Italy, Bulgaria, Serbia, Germany, Belgium, Finland and France.

The four Asian countries that qualified through the AVC World Championship qualification tournament are Iran, Australia, Korea and China. The three vacancies available to South America were filled by Brazil, Argentina and Venezuela, while Egypt, Tunisia and Cameroon will be participating for Africa.  

NORCECA is the only confederation left to complete its qualification tournaments, with four qualifying tournaments (each with four teams) scheduled for May and June in the USA, Cuba, Canada and Puerto Rico, as well as a continental play-off from July 9 to 14.

The FIVB Volleyball World Championships are a quadrennial event. In the women’s competition, Russia are the two-time defending champions while Brazil have won a hat-trick of back-to-back titles in 2002, 2006 and 2010.

Reigning world champions, Brazil could make history with a fourth win in a row at this year's FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship

The men’s tournament will be followed by the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014, which will take place from September 23 to October 12.

FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 page


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines