The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Historic World League calendar to culminate in Florence, Italy

Florence hosted World League action during the Intercontinental Round of the FIVB Volleyball World League 2012

Lausanne, Switzerland, February 27, 2014 – The FIVB Volleyball World League 2014 is set for a grandstand finish following the confirmation of the host cities of the three Finals by the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) on Wednesday as Florence, Italy for Group 1 (Pools A & B); Sydney, Australia for Group 2 (Pools C, D & E) and Bursa, Turkey for Group 3 (Pools F & G).

With the World League set for an historic calendar featuring 28 teams across seven pools, Florence will host the culmination of the 2014 edition of the premier annual men’s event from July 16 to 20. Six teams – the top two from each pool in Group 1 in addition to the hosts Italy and the winner from the Finals of Group 2 – will compete in two pools of three teams each.

Florence will be the fourth Italian city to host a World League Finals following Rome (2004), Milan (1998, 1994 & 1991) and Genova (1992) and caps a bumper year for Italy, who will also host the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship in the cities of Rome, Trieste, Verona, Bari, Modena and Milan from September 23 to October 12 and the FIVB Congress in Milan from October 31 to November 1, but not before the city of Parma hosts the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Drawing of Lots on March 10. 

The Group 2 Finals, where the winner will advance to the Group 1 Finals, will be a Final Four on the weekend of July 11 to 13 in Sydney, Australia – a city which tasted top level volleyball action at the 2000 Olympic Games while also having hosted an Asian qualification leg of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 last year. The matches of the Final Four will be played at the Sydney Olympic Park - one of two former Olympic venues to be used during this year’s World League. The Group 3 Round 1 matches hosted by Mexico during the Intercontinental Round will be held at the volleyball facilities used during the 1968 Olympic Games.  

Group 3’s Final Four tournament will be staged from June 27 to 29 and the participants will comprise the host country Turkey, the winners of each pool as well as the runner-up from Pool G. If Turkey top Pool F then the best ranked team from the same pool, not already qualified, will be selected. Additionally Mexico City, Mexico and Carolina, Puerto Rico will host the Round 1 matches of Pool F and G respectively while the Round 2 matches will be held in Tunis, Tunisia (Pool F) and Kosice, Slovakia (Pool G).

2014 FIVB Volleyball World League Intercontinental Round calendar



 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines