The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Philippines to host Men’s Asian Club Championship

Kaleh club, representing Iran, claimed the gold medal at the 2013 Asian Men Club Championship
Manila, Philippines, February 22, 2014 – Manila is set to host the 2014 Men’s Asian Club Championship in April, where one of the 18 participating teams will secure a ticket to the FIVB Volleyball Men’s Club World Championship.

The Men’s Asian Club Championship which is usually in May will be held this year from April 8 to 16, to ensure qualifiers end in time for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s Club World Championship, which has moved to early May.

The 18 participating teams will be drawn into four pools. The hosts Philippines were assigned to Pool A, with Iraq (seventh place in 2013), Kuwait and Mongolia. The top six teams of last edition were all drawn into the other three pools.

As the national leagues are still ongoing, the drawing of lots was conducted under the names of the AVC members.

Pool B includes Iran, Japan (finished sixth in 2013), Lebanon and Vietnam. Defending Champion Iran is the traditional strong team in the Asian Club Championship, having won nine titles in the past 13 editions (2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2013). It was only in 2012, that the club Kaleh, representing Iran, failed to keep their excellent performance by winning only a bronze medal.

Pool C will see Qatar play against Kazakhstan, Oman, Hong Kong and Turkmenistan. Qatar has emerged as one of the powerful club teams in Asia, defeating China in a nail biting final match in 2012 to take home the gold medal for first time ever in the tournament. The Qatar team also finished second in 2013.

In Pool D, Chinese Taipei (bronze medal winner in 2013) will meet China, who placed fourth in the 2013 edition along with the UAE, India and Papua New Guinea.

Pool A: Philippines, Iraq, Kuwait, Mongolia
Pool B: Iran, Japan, Lebanon, Vietnam
Pool C: Qatar, Kazakhstan, Oman, Hong Kong, Turkmenistan
Pool D: Chinese Taipei, China, UAE, India, Papua New Guinea

The FIVB Volleyball Men’s Club World Championship will be held from May 6 to 11 in Betim, Brazil.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page


Latest headlines