The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Germany first up for history-chasing Brazilians

Brazil are chasing a fourth-consecutive gold medal at Poland 2014
After a glittering year in 2013, Brazil’s men have one overriding aim for 2014 – to defend their FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship title and become the first team to win the tournament four years in a row. 

In 2013 Bruno Rezende’s team won gold in the FIVB Grand Champions Cup and the CSV Men’s South American Championship and finished second behind Russia in the FIVB World League. 

Brazil are one of two sides to have won three titles in a row having won the World Championship in 2002, 2006 and 2010. Italy are the other side having claimed a hat-trick of titles in 1990, 1994 and 1998. 

While Italy have shown that they are back to medal-winning ways by winning bronze at the London 2012 Olympic Games and the World League, Brazil’s greater success in that period suggest that it will be them who are more likely to make history at Poland 2014.
Brazil know their first opponent in Pool B, the ever-improving Germany on September 1, but until then they will be hard at work on the court and in the gym at the National Volleyball Development Centre in  Saquarema with their minds mixed firmly on that fourth set of gold medals. 


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo


Latest headlines