The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Parma to host FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship Drawing of Lots on March 10

Defending champions Russia are hoping to top the podium once again in Italy this year

Rome, Italy, February 6, 2014 – The Drawing of Lots for the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 will take place on March 10 in Parma as announced at a meeting held Wednesday in Rome between the Organizing Committee and the host cities.

The Drawing of Lots will take place at the Teatro Farnese in the Italian city of Parma and will determine the makeup of the pools in the first round of this year’s tournament.

To date 16 teams have qualified for the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014. Japan, China, Thailand and Kazakhstan have filled the four vacancies available to the Asian Confederation, while Brazil and Argentina took the two places available to South America.

The ten vacancies for the European countries were filled by the following: Italy (host country), Russia, Germany, Turkey, Bulgaria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Croatia, Serbia, the Netherlands. Only the African Confederation and NORCECA have yet to complete their qualification processes.

Italy will host the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship for the first time ever. As one of volleyball’s strongest and proudest nations, the best of women’s volleyball will have a wonderful stage to perform on, especially after an outstanding standard was set during the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship in 2010. A total of six cities - Rome, Trieste, Verona, Bari, Modena, Milan - will host the FIVB’s premier tournament for women.

The FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship will feature 24 teams divided into four pools of six teams for the first round, which will be a round-robin system.

Click here for an overview of the qualification process


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines