The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

A.E.K. ATHENS celebrate first title in Greek National Cup


Alexandroupolis, Greece, February 3, 2014 – On Saturday A.E.K. ATHENS claimed their first title in Greece’s national cup, named after the late national team player Nikos Samaras, after edging A.O. Foinika SYROS in a dramatic final match 3-2 (25-27, 25-19, 22-25, 25-20, 15-12).

Colombian Jorge Emilio Moreno Payan scored 24 points for A.E.K. ATHENS while Spain’s Julian Garcia Torres and Ioannis Mantekas added another 15 apiece to the count for the winning side. Austria’s Thomas Zass and Ukraine’s Andrii Diachkov scored 21 and 16 points respectively for Foinikas SYROS.

Foinikas SYROS had previously edged out G.S. LAMIA in the semifinals 3-0 (25-12, 25-21, 25-23) while A.E.K. ATHENS downed Ethnikos ALEXANDROUPOLIS in straight sets 3-0 (25-19, 29-27, 25-21).

Individual awards

MVP: Nikolaos Kretsis (A.E.K. ATHENS)
Best Setter: Nikolaos Kretsis (A.E.K. ATHENS)
Best Blocker: Julian Garcia Torres (ESP/A.E.K. ATHENS)
Best Spiker: Petros Petroglou (A.E.K. ATHENS)
Best Libero: Konrad Guzda (A.E.K. ATHENS)


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines