The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 to start on August 30

Reigning world champions, Brazil could make history with a fourth win in a row at this year's FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship

Lausanne, Switzerland, January 15, 2014 – Volleyball fans around the world can now look forward to the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 starting a few days earlier, following changes to the tournament’s match schedule.

Originally set to run from September 3 to 21, the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 will now begin on August 30 and will end as originally planned on September 21. The new start date will allow for the inclusion of rest days in round one of the tournament.

The group A and D matches will begin on Sunday, August 31, with groups B and C beginning their bid for the championship title a day later.  The second round of the tournament will take place from September 10 to 14 with group E and F matches. The final six teams will battle it out on the courts during the third round from September 16 to 18. 

The top two teams from each third round pool will then advance to the semifinals and finals on September 20 and 21 with - in the only difference to the FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship Italy 2014 competition formula - the third ranked teams in the third round pools also playing off for fifth place.

To date 16 teams have qualified for the Men’s World Championships following the completion of the European round of qualifications in early January 3 to 5, with only the African Confederation (three vacancies) and NORCECA (five vacancies) still to complete their qualification process for the World Championship tournament.

On the African continent, the year kicks off in February with three tournaments in Kenya (February 5 to 11), Cameroon (February 12 to 18) and Tunisia (March 2 to 8) each featuring five teams with one ticket per tournament on offer to Poland.

Countries in the NORCECA confederation must wait the longest to discover their fate, with four qualifying tournaments (each with four teams) scheduled for May and June in Cuba (May 12 to 18), Canada (May 13 to 19), USA (May 13 to 19), Puerto Rico (May 20 to 26). The FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 NORCECA playoff will take place either in Mexico or Puerto Rico from July 7 to 13. By the end of this, the last five teams will have booked their place at the World Championships.

The men’s tournament will be followed by the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014, which will take place from September 23 to October 12.

The FIVB Volleyball World Championships are a quadrennial event. In the women’s competition, Russia are the two-time defending champions while Brazil have won a hat-trick of back-to-back titles in 2002, 2006 and 2010.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page


Latest headlines