The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Hosts and dates confirmed for NORCECA World Champs third round qualifiers

Dominican Republic will be joined by Barbados and Suriname in visiting Cuba in the third round Pool P men's qualifier on May 12-18
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, January 9, 2014 – The NORCECA Confederation has confirmed the dates and host countries for the third and final round of its qualification tournaments towards the FIVB Volleyball World Championships 2014 to be held in Poland (men) and Italy (women).

The women’s third phase features 20 teams divided in five pools of four teams where the winners of each pool will be granted a direct ticket to the finals in Italy, which will be held from September 23 to October 12.

Cuba will host the Pool Q from May 5-11, where Trinidad & Tobago, Curacao and Haiti will battle the host Cuba for the berth in Italy.

Pool O will be contested in Colorado Springs, United States where the home team will compete against Panama, Guatemala and Honduras from May 13-19.

In the same dates, hosts Dominican Republic will be welcoming Nicaragua, El Salvador and Guadeloupe in Pool P, while Canada will receive Mexico, U.S. Virgin Islands and Jamaica in Pool S.

The fifth Pool R will take place in Puerto Rico with the home side joined by Costa Rica, St Lucia and Barbados from May 20-26.

The FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 NORCECA playoff to be played between the second placed teams of the five third-round events is scheduled in Trinidad & Tobago from June 2-9.

Sixteen teams will be participating in the men’s qualifiers divided into four pools of four also with a final qualification event for the runner-ups of these tournaments. The four pool winners will be granted a berth in Poland from August 30 to September 21.

Cuba will organize Pool P playing teams from Dominican Republic, Barbados and Suriname from May 12-18, while Colorado Springs in United States is the hosting city for teams competing in Pool O which are Guatemala, St Lucia, Haiti and hosts United States from May 13-19.

Also from May 13-19, Canada will host Pool Q contesting the teams from Trinidad & Tobago, Costa Rica and Panama while Puerto Rico will serve as home of Pool R with the local team competing against Mexico, Honduras and Bahamas from May 20-26.

The FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 NORCECA playoff will take place either in Mexico or Puerto Rico from July 14-20.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines