The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

USA, Brazil & Thailand earn place in FIVB Women's Grand Champions Cup

USA's gold at the NORCECA Women's Continental Championship on Saturday earned them a place in the World Grand Champions Cup this November.

Lausanne, Switzerland, September 23, 2013 – After another weekend of busy qualifier action Brazil, Thailand, Russia have earned their spots at the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Grand Champions Cup. The three countries join Russia – who qualified for the tournament earlier in September – and hosts Japan in this year’s tournament, which is scheduled to take place from November 12 to 17.

The US took the one spot available for the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Champions Cup for Women after the team won the NORCECA Women's Continental Championship.  The United States captured the 2013 Visit Omaha NORCECA Women’s Continental Championship gold medal by defeating the Dominican Republic (25-19, 26-24, 21-25, 25-19) on Saturday evening at the Ralston Arena in Omaha.

Brazil won a place at the FIVB Grand Champions Cup after taking their 18th South American Championship title on Saturday when they beat Venezuela in straight sets 3-0     (25-20, 25-20, 25-17) in an hour and 18 minutes. Brazil is also a guaranteed a place at the FIVB World Championships in Italy next year.

On Saturday, Thailand secured a 3-0 (25-22, 25-18, 25-17) win over world No.3 and London Olympics bronze medalists, Japan for their second Asian crown in history and a berth to test their mettle in the FIVB World Grand Champions Cup this November. Thailand’s win also ensured their place in next year’s FIVB World Grand Prix and a berth to compete in the AVC Cup, where they will be out to defend their title.

The FIVB Volleyball World Grand Champions Cup features a total of six teams per gender with the hosts Japan being joined by the continental winners from Asia, Europe, NORCECA and South America with an additional country selected by the FIVB. Africa do not have an automatic spot in the tournament after finishing the 2012 Olympic Games as the lowest ranked confederation amongst the five.

In August, Brazil won their 29th South American title Brazil, becoming the first team to qualify for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Grand Champions Cup, to be held in Japan from November 19 to 24.

The last edition of the tournament was in 2009 with Brazil coming away with the men’s title for the second consecutive time after remaining unbeaten while in the women’s tournament, Italy picked up their first ever crown. The women’s event is set to take place from November 12 to 17, 2013 and the men’s from November 19 to 24, 2013.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines