The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

China, India win openers in Pool C Asian qualifiers for Men's World Championship

Triple blocking by China disrupted Chinese Taipei's attack
 Chenzhou, China, September 20, 2013 – Hosts China beat Chinese Taipei 3-0 (25-20, 25-12, 25-21) and India won by a similar score (25-20, 25-21, 25-19) against Saudi Arabia as action got under way in Pool C of the Asian Men’s Qualification Tournament for the 2014 FIVB World Championship.

The four teams are fighting for the final direct Asian ticket to the World Championship. Iran, Korea and Australia have already qualified from the other pools.

China, guided by coach Xie Guochen, played better in all aspects against Chinese Taipei. With Geng Xin’s quick spiking and Yuan Zhi’s back-row attacks, China cruised to an 8-3 lead at the first technical timeout in the first set. Chinese Taipei tried to stop the host’s momentum but were still behind at the second technical timeout and the hosts held on comfortably for the win with efficient blocking and attacking.

The second set was totally one-sided, Chinese Taipei managing just 12 points against China’s tight blocking.

China substituted Yuan Zhi with rising star Dai Qingrao in the third set and started the set with six straight points. Chinese Taipei used running attacks to close to 5-8 but good back-row spiking by Ji Daoshuai helped China move ahead 15-9, giving Chinese Taipei no chance to get back into the match.

On Saturday, China will face Saudi Arabia and India will fight against Chinese Taipei.

In the Asian Men’s Final Qualification Tournament, 16 teams have been split into four pools of four. Only the top team in each pool can earn a ticket to the World Championship, which will take place in Poland from September 3 to 21, 2014. 


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines