The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Iran, Venezuela qualify for FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship

Iran finished ahead of Bahrain, Pakistan and Indonesia at home in the Pool B Asia qualifier
Lausanne, Switzerland, September 16, 2013 – Iran and Venezuela at the weekend joined the list of countries who have qualified for the 2014 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship in Poland.

Iran confirmed their place in the 2014 FIVB World Championship on Friday by winning Pool B in the Asian Men’s Qualification Tournament.

Iran and Bahrain were both unbeaten going into Pool B’s final match on Friday and Iran prevailed 3-0 (25-16, 25-17, 25-14), becoming the third Asian team to qualify for the 2014 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship. 

“I told my players not to become upset if Bahrain played better than us,” Iran coach Julio Velasco stated. “Just know what to do to become a winner. We started to hit good services and that brought good defence. Asian teams have high motivation to win against us and I always say that Iran should be proud of this.”

In the Asian Men’s Final Qualification Tournament, 16 teams have been split into four pools of four. Only the top team in each pool can earn a ticket to the World Championship, which will take place in Poland from September 3 to 21, 2014. 

In addition to Iran, Australia and Korea have also earned Asian berths in the World Championship.

The games in Pool C – China (hosts), India, Chinese Taipei and Saudi Arabia – will take place from September 20-22.

Venezuela earned their ticket to the 2014 FIVB World Championship by edging Colombia 3-2 (29-27, 24-26, 25-17, 19-25, 17-15) in Medellin, Colombia, on Sunday.

Venezuela join Brazil and Argentina as qualifiers from South America. 

For Europe, two countries will qualify through the 2013 CEV Men’s Volleyball European Championship (September 20-29). The five pool winners and the best second-placed team from the third round of qualifiers (January 3-5) will also qualify for the World Championship. Host county Poland will fill the final spot.

African teams will have their chance to qualify for the FIVB World Championships during their qualification tournaments, which resume in October. The second round of tournaments will take place in October and November, and the final round takes place in January 2014. The three Pool winners of the third round will move on to the FIVB World Championships.

The North, Central America and Caribbean Volleyball Confederation (NORCECA) will be the last confederation to qualify all their teams for the 2014 Men’s FIVB World Championships. The third round of the qualification tournaments will occur from May 21 to June 30, where the winners from each of the four Pools will qualify for the FIVB World Championships. The four silver-medal winners will then compete in the NORCECA Continental Cup Playoff from July 9 to 14 in hopes of securing the final FIVB World Championship spot.

The first FIVB World Championships were organised in 1949 for men and 1952 for women. 


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines