The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Former Brazil volleyball player elected IOC member

Brazil's Bernard Rajzman with former IOC President Jacques Rogge after being sworn in as an IOC member at the 125th IOC Session that took place in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Lausanne, Switzerland, September 11, 2013 – The final day of the 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires, Argentina kicked off with the election of nine new IOC members including Bernard Rajzman, a former volleyball player from Brazil. 

Rajzman is currently president of Brazil's National Commission of Athletes and a state congressman in his country. His election as an individual member and that of the eight other candidates brings the IOC’s membership up to 112. The IOC’s membership now comprises individuals, active athletes as well as representatives of International Federations (IFs) and National Olympic Committees (NOCs).

Bernard Rajzman entered Brazil men's national volleyball team at 17, playing in three Olympic Games winning a silver medal in Los Angeles in 1984. Over his career, he also won seven South American Championships, one gold medal at the 1983 Pan-American Games, silver in the 1982 FIVB Men's World Championship and bronze in the 1981 Volleyball World Cup. He was entered into the Volleyball Hall of Fame in 2005.

In addition to international team play, Rajzman also played for clubs in in his home country and was the first Brazilian to play professionally in an Italian club. Rajzman’s Italian club, Panini Modena, captured the Italian Cup in 1978 and the Cup Winner’s Cup in 1979. Back home, he helped lead Atlantica Boa Vista to the Brazilian Super League Championship in 1981 and a second place finish the following year. In 2000 Rajzman received the “Best Volleyball Player of the Twentieth Century” award from the International Volleyball Federation.

‘Volley Bernard’ as he is known in Brazil, has also served as National Secretary of Sport, a member of the Brazilian National Olympic Committee, as President of the National Sports Commission and President of the Commission for the Rio 2000 Olympic Games. Rajzman also served as President of the Organizing Committee for the World Wheelchair and Amputee Games, part of the Tribute to Peace held in Rio de Janeiro in September 2005 and Sub-Secretary of State for the 2007 Pan-American games.

The election of new IOC members followed the recommendations of the IOC Nominations Commission. While voting took place before presidential election, all nine members were sworn in after Thomas Bach was elected the ninth president of the IOC on Tuesday.

The nine new members did not take part in any of the voting at the session, including the election of the new IOC President.

IOC members elected at 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires

- Octavian Morariu of Romania, candidature as an individual member
- Bernard Rajzman of Brazil, candidature as an individual member
- Mikaela Maria Antonia Cojuangco-Jaworski of the Philippines, candidature as an individual member
- Alexander Zhukov of Russia, candidature linked to his function within an NOC
- Paul Kibii Tergat of Kenya, candidature as an individual member
- Lawrence Probst III of the United States, candidature linked to his function within an NOC
- Dagmawit Girmay Berhane of Ethiopia, candidature as an individual member
- Camiel Eurlings of the Netherlands, candidature as an individual member
- Stefan Holm of Sweden, candidature linked to his function as active athlete


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page


Latest headlines