The HeadquartersCorporate ProfileThe OrganisationFIVB Story
Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login

Argentina, Brazil, Italy and Japan warm up for U21 World Champs

Argentina lost to Russia in the final of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship in 2011

Rome, Italy, August 13, 2013 - Brazil, Japan and Argentina head to Italy on Tuesday for a friendly tournament in preparation for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship, which will take place in Turkey from August 22 to September 1.

Four-time champions Brazil are the second most successful country at FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship level with four titles and 12 medals out of the 16 editions dating back to the first in 1977. Defending champions Russia is the most successful country having won the most titles with eight (including four as USSR) and 13 medals.

Brazil, who finished fifth in 2011, will play in the friendly tournament in Rome before heading to Izmir, Turkey on Tuesday-week to play in Group D, alongside Russia, Italy, France and Venezuela.

Having already played Italy and silver medallists from the 2011 edition Argentina before in friendly matches, Brazil coach Leonardo Carvalho said it was important to face teams like Japan with different styles of play in the final preparation for the World Championships.

"Japan is the current Asian champion and certainly has a strong team,” Leonardo said. “It will be a good opportunity to experience a different style of play, which always presents difficulties."

There are a total of four pools at the FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship with hosts Turkey playing China, Egypt, India and Morocco in Pool A while Pool B – who, like Pool A, will play its matches at the Baskent sports hall in Ankara – includes Argentina (who are coming off a friendly tournament in Tunisia against the hosts, India and Russia), Iran, Japan, Mexico and Estonia.

Pool C, which features 2011 bronze medallists Serbia, USA, Tunisia, Canada and Rwanda, will play in the Atatürk Sports Hall in Izmir alongside Pool D.

The final weekend of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship will take place at Baskent Volleyball Hall in Ankara.


 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Volleyball home page


Latest headlines